Self Potrait with M16a4

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

F721241D-E961-4867-A5A0-D0FB4F025429.jpeg

My recent illustration for Gila-Gila 802nd issue is my kind of favourite workflow by combining digital sketching and manual coloring. I have always hoping to maximise my usage of digital artworks, but the yearn for striving something in traditional medium makes me always looking for a way to things manually, in the medium that I love- watercolor.
The cover was sketched in Procreate and traced on to 150gsm drawing paper. Unfortunately I have the certain habit of recording the first sketch and only I realised that I had missed the step by step by step when the drawing is already finished.
And why not do a new one?

18E04A43-A739-4A0A-ABB0-3D32172FA34E.jpeg

And who else would be featured as a subject- a self portrait should be great lol
So the initial sketch was done digitally to give the freedom of space and redos.

462C1DC9-9899-4366-8A2C-6B9FAF29E3F9.jpeg

Tracing in progress. The only concern in this step is that the screen can slip or rescaled due to unintentional touch. Just avoid unnecassary contact to the tracing paper.

F39CB1FB-DB33-4E51-8D83-5A5AACED9EF1.jpeg

So this is where the fun begins. I filled up the background with washes using ultramarine, burnt sienna and burnt umber. Its easier to give a balanced tone since the colors will also represent the skin tone.

39FBDB79-2DAA-48B4-863F-C46FA80AFE90.jpeg

In this drawing I have decided to use at least two seperate ghost layers, the background and the AR. To my understanding, ghost layers are the hues that will hauntingly or subtly give an overall mood of the picture later in the finalised piece.

![6D7A177E-8ECA-47ED-8653-A7D65E50C0F4.jpeg]
()

So these are the tools instrumental to this piece.
Jackson’s sky-wash xl for the first wash
Escoda Perla 8 for initial details
Davinci petit gris pur 2 for finalising
WN one stroke for finalising tne final

Abey Zoul’s Watercolor Techniques for (the ever needed) reference and guides
Daler Rowney Aquafine Travel Set.

AAB5A325-1C4C-4A81-8F50-69B386E4E7B5.jpeg

Digital sketching really improves the hours of doodling. I havent try this method en plein air, but I had already felt that it will be really helpful in compositing subject. By adding up a manual drawings, you have a hard copy of your work and oh my it is really fun to do.

Tembakau

Sort:  

Wow this is a really interesting technique to me! You see so many people doing the reverse - sketching in pencil or pen and then scanning in to color digitally. I am not sure I have seen anyone using this technique though, sketching on tablet to begin with then tracing onto paper to color with watercolor. That is pretty interesting! The finished portrait turned out great. Love the splotches of color in the background and your intense expression. Thanks for sharing this process! I want to try something similar now :)

Much love - Carl

nangih tgk yon..powerrr..manual watrcolor at its best ..

izinkan patik mengaum seketika..aummmm..abg temb sudah ganass.. :))

Terima kasih Dek Dan muahhh cikedd cuma saya rasa saya cukup lambat nak respon apatah lagi kalau bipolar menyerang hahaha

Fuhh ! Berasap !

Terima kasih abe Mio

UIshh tak aci dah dapat buku abey zoul tu! Saya order tak dapat2 lagii huhu

Ini dapat limited print masa kelas `direk hari tu Kimi- yang pre order belum lagi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66195.81
ETH 3505.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18