Steem-Cartoon : The Story Behind My Reason (Self Introduction) + ART PROCESS

Hello Steemians, I'm a chill, 19-year old girl from Malaysia. I’m looking forward to making new friends here and getting to know everyone. The name's Ellyn, and this is the short story behind why I do what I do!

Anyway, lets begin!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

A HEALTHY YOUNG SPROUT WHO’S ALWAYS DREAMING

Ever since I was young, I had been obsessed with a fantasy world. Dragons, fairies, magical beings, witches and all that. I suppose it started when I was exposed to all sorts of console games and books. I’m a 90s kid (whoop whoop!), so I was in the era where technology was rising speedily. I was a happy young girl, with my gameboy and my PS2, playing Pokemon and Spyro and Barbie games.

10.jpg

My parents weren’t wealthy but they had strange priorities in life.

Comic_1_english.jpg

But they love us and take care of us (I have 2 younger siblings now).

comic_1-5.jpg

When I was young, my parents used to be the ones playing the games, but I took over the trade XD. I guess that love also led me to be a little undisciplined hehe. I used to watch my dad play games with such focus and admiration. And I started to love the stories so much I wouldn’t mind playing the same games twice, reading the same books and watching the same movies. I guess I owe it to my dad as well, who would patiently explain things in the stories we watch together.

comic_2.jpg

PASSION FOR DRAWING

I also have a strong passion for drawing and creating my own fantasy worlds! Back then, I was really into cat people and cats in general. Still am and don’t think that’s gonna change anytime soon. Because animals (not only cats) are so sweet and cute and need our protection ( ; u ; )

comic_3.jpg

My siblings and I are all asthmatic but we have a cat anyway... Would you like to see my precious daughter? She’s no instafamous cat, but-

fb490575-fcb9-4601-997f-74421029b61e.jpg

This mah cat. Her name is Comel, which literally means 'Cute' in malay. Very creative, I know.
But she’s just so cute with me!! She's one of my main cat models.

Comel.jpg

Anyway, I also drew anime and cartoon characters, until I’ve gained quite a bit of skill in drawing! I used to read lotsa comic books and made some of my own as well. I had stacks and stacks of books filled with drawings and unfinished stories. Art is such a great way of telling stories you can’t say with just words.

As a result of my gaming and drawing years, when I was in primary school I had become quite a loner haha. I was kind of a weirdo and didn’t have friends till I met my future besties. (I’ll tell this story in another post, it’s quite long and close to heart :’)

MY WILL TO BE BETTER

All the way in high school I was still somewhat of a weirdo, just with friends now. Then, in a strange twist of will and belief, I was given a chance to change. As I grew up, I knew that in order to reach my dream of sharing my stories to world, I had to become someone different. I thought, “How would someone like me be able to become a successful producer?”

comic_4.jpg

I had to become someone who was strong and bold and knowledgeable in many areas of life. So I tried. I joined many things in school. I joined competitions, I became a librarian at school and I joined a business club and learned soo many things from there.

I’m still trying, and I believe I’m going on the right track. I’m now studying animation in university and I’m on my way to achieving my dream of having my own company!! Not just for me... But to take care of my family as well. I’m only 19, and success is still a long ways away...

eyes.jpg

However, I believe the power of determination is a strong thing and I will never forget everyone who supported me while I’m still a small, growing little shrimp. One day, I will be a big lobster and support back those who need me. (Yes that’s not how evolution works haha!).

comic_5.jpg

Here’s a bonus for you guys!

‘CHILDHOOD DRAWING’ PROCESS GIF

process.gif

As a short GIF, Im going to give a few short pointers on how I did this drawing.
-I used a lot of pastel colours for a soft feel to it.
-Dont use black for shadows! Its a dirty and dark colour and its better to use a darker colour or a different hue. Like the shirt of the girl, I used blue for the shades instead of black or dark red. Although its still acceptable, its more colourful when you use a lot of colours.
-Always use reference images.

COMIC PROCESS

1.jpg

First, I give a rough sketch of how I want the comic to look like with a blue pen because its much easier to see the outlines when you use different coloured pens for the sketch and outlines.

2.jpg

Then, I give crisp outlines to the sketches with a thick black pen.

3.jpg

I add shades and colour to the characters in the drawing in the proper areas like hair, clothes and the shadows on the face.

4.jpg

Dialog boxes with a light shadow underneath them!

THANKS FOR READING!
What would you like to see in my next post?

hair detail.jpg

Maybe a tutorial on how I colour hair?
Or maybe a tutorial on how to draw cats?
And if you have any comments/criticism on my drawings feel free to tell me as well
I want to hear from you too. Thank you ~

Sort:  

Dope work man!
Grow your followers by posting on #futurewhales
Upvote for Upvote
Resteem for Resteem

hello, interestingly written, good luck on the project, look at my blog

I'll take that as a compliment. Thanks! You take good pictures.

welcome!

fav here :)

hello! thank you for the welcome ^^

Wow, awesome style, use of color and everything overall. You seem on a good way to become truly great someday. And studying animation! I love animation pretty cool.. I'll definitely follow you.

I'm doing also some animations on my blog. Hope to improve my skills to do a real short film some day. I just have all these stories in my head, that need a way out :D

PS: I'd like to see a cat tutorial. I like how you draw the simplified cats in the comic :D
The real cat is of course also great.

Thanks! Your animation works are pretty cool too, I'll follow you back.

Simplified cats I see... I'm glad someone likes them, but they're so simple there's not much a tutorial to do? Hahaha
Maybe I'll post a fully coloured one then a short one :)

Yeah maybe just the forms that they're made out of. And then in different positions :D

Welcome to steemit @ellyn-suraya. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ellyn-suraya to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow! interesting... 💙💚💛💜

I'm waiting for your next story....

thank you very much, I think my next post will be a tutorial.

Great !
In theory, you can succeed in steemit by providing high-value content. A tutorial is one of them.

Tutorial ➡️help us ➡️its valuable to us ➡️your content is valuable.

➕great story

its will 💥💥💕❤️😬

wow that seems to be a sure way of getting a larger audience. Thanks!

Hi ellyn..nice to have you here..welcome and have fun. :)

Haha thanks, you too :)

You are very talented!
Welcome to the community!
Grow your followers by posting your content @futurewhales
Upvote for upvote
Resteem for resteem

Follow for follow?

Great Story Adlin @ellyn-suraya ... wish you success... GoodLuck!

Thank you, mr sireh!

Welcome! Love your intro and drawings! Well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48