Steem Cartoon : Key to Final Art (Flying Squirrel)

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

header Flying Squirrel.jpg

I was in the midst of my animation series when suddenly the steemit bug caught me and I started doing this instead...my partner @rambai will be so mad with me if he finds out. I am quite sure he will coz he always upvotes me. But what the heck, here goes...

step 0.jpg

I got the idea accidentally when I was doing a sketch for the background of a forest. The brush that I use is flat rought. Ther colour combination is olive green, green yellow, light seagreen and navy blue.

step 1.jpg

Here, I try to balance the colour to get a deep contrast from light to dark. I use a lot of infusion of darkgoldenrod to create a hot colour as a focal point in my piece.

step 2.jpg

I will start the detailing work on the leaves and the tree trunk.

step 3.jpg

I will use the colour balance tool to get a cool colour.

step 4.jpg

Above the layer of cold colour again I utilise the effect layer colour balance to increase the hot colours. This layer I will subsequently erase by using an erasor tool on the parts that I would require some cool colours.

step 5.jpg

I then introduce the character to get the background feel of what I had just created. I use the blur effect on the background to bring forth the flying squirrel so that it looks like it is on photo mode. It is okay to have a close up of the flying squirrel.

And this is the final piece...

step 6.jpg

terbang final close up.jpg


credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Omg it looks so cute and real. Great piece of artwork

:D Thank you jiashin..

Exelent Caracter cartoon...

Thank you.. fuaddin :)

Very cool. The vines are reaching out as if they were curious elephant trunks.

it's coincidentally..hahaha thanks, @creativetruth.. :)

Amazing color palette, depth of field, the vignette effect, the environmental moods. Salute

still on experiment how to build up colours like pixar studios .Thank you..appreciate that.

nice concept , I thought that was a bear in the background ;)
amazing effects!!

hehe it seems to need to fix it again that squirrel ..anyway thanks @kinguys.. :)

Love the flying squirrel and the picture looks fantasy.

Thank you .. :)

The depth of field in digital painting... leading line to the main subject... It shows how experience you are... every wannabee background artist must look at your works and learn... gudjob bro!

Thanks master sireh... :)

oh my, that's gorgeous!
I'm really sad you cropped in the piece though, I think it was working quite well before. And then all that lovely detail you put in the background got lost... :(
Thank you for explaining your process in colouring, I am mainly a character artist and I have a lot of difficulty with backgrounds & colour. I struggle a lot with keeping my images contrasted and I really need to study more light/shadow behaviour. sigh.
This is very inspiring, thank you for sharing!

Thank you for your opinion.Now I learn something and will do better than this ..:)

oh, my! I didn't mean it was "wrong"! It's just a personal opinion! XD
the cropped version is very beautiful as well. ♡
I just personally prefer the version before :)

Sorry for misunderstanding..hahah now I got it,, that cropped one is for the zoom in version. .I've edited it on flow text on the last picture... really thanks for your feedback. :)

Oh I see! looks like I was the one who misunderstood. apologies!
:D
keep on being awesome ;)

That looks epic. Are you a game concept designer?

Thank you my friend. I am concept and background artist for animation industries. :)

Oh ok, thought you were doing Blizz like games. That pic is very beautiful and reminds me of WOW.

I am big fan of Blizz concept art .it is undeniable I've influenced by their work, colour palettes especially.Thanks again dude...glad you like it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74