Steem Cartoon : Creating a Wave in the Art Community

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

History in the Making


It has been a while since I got so excited. Today I met with the Minister of Tourism Tan Sri Nazri in our Cartoon Exhibition in the National Museum. I get to meet our long time supporter of #steem-cartoon the quiet @kevinwong and supportive @bitrocker2020. I get to meet the super talented @stahlberg who was so nice to turn up for our event after being invited by @perennial from his busy schedule.

pic 12.jpg
(from left: @rambai, @killuminatic, @kevinwong, @bitrocker2020, @cartoonistpandan and @aurah (myself))

pic 03.jpg
(Tan Sri Nazri Aziz, the Malaysian Minister of Tourism paying our cartoon exhibition a visit)

pic 02.jpg
(you can see Awang Khenit and Badang which are two of our creation that is part of the Malaysian Cartoon Industry with a viewership of 700,000 viewers each episode)(photo taken by my friend)

That was the morning event. The event did not abate in the afternoon when @sireh and @perennial turned the heat up with some really awesome work. I personally know these two individuals and they are the ones who got the engine of #steem-cartoon running with effort that not many can pull off.

20180123_145508.jpg
(photo by @shuazir)

New Initiative


@perennial took the opportunity to introduce two new initiatives to the audiences that exceeded 200 people. These initiative is the announcement of a new community called #steem-music led by @calebleejl, @zhusatriani and @perennial. The second initiative is a sub community within #steem-cartoon that is known as Urban Sketchers led by @kymio the talented son of our very own @abgmie.

IMG_20180123_144950_HDR.jpg(photo by @hanbun)

The day started off with 3 wonderful music performances by the talented @zhusatriani and @papisaxy. We were entertained by the charismatic @muslyramlee and @zulkiflisaadan who are both recording artists.

IMG_20180123_145857_HDR.jpg(photo by @hanbun)

I couldn't believe my eyes when @stahlberg turned up. His work is legendary in our field and many art students would have used his works as references.


(work by @stahlberg)


Being Legally Enlightened


We were all quite entertained @perennial who is surprisingly quite a good speaker. He gave us enough reason to believe why cryptocurrency is legal in Malaysia and shared with us his personal experience as a lawyer involved in banking and finance law. He is quite an effective speaker giving speech in both in the Malay Language and the English.

a11.jpg(picture by @sireh)

I am still smiling reliving my memories from the morning. This has been the most entertaining event that I have attended in quite a while. Usually it has been quite boring and formal in nature. But this one that is planned by @sireh and @perennial is simple a different class of its own, there is ample performance, light hearted jokes, enough engagement from the audiences and strong visuals to deliver the impact that drives home the message that Steemit ought to deliver.


I Found My Home


After today, I felt more at home within my creative community. Yes, the money is there but the camaraderie counts a lot for me. I could not be happier working with people like @perennial, @sireh and @bitrocker2020. I wish to do more than what I am currently contributing to #teammalaysia and #steem-cartoon.

I would also want to thank @sndbox for being ever so supportive of our small community. It is not easy to move such a big initiative that is so actively engaging everyone in the art community and be so effective in doing so.

pic 05.jpg
(a happy me with a character that I help create)



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

@nkkb to @aurah hey nice to see photo of the six strong suppoeters.
Well done an acknowledgement from the tourism ministry.
#nkkb

haha its looks like Tan Sri excited about cartoon history in malaysia.Hope this industry will continue to grow

That sounds like fun. Too bad I missed it. Thank you for sharing.

you're welcome nAzriofficial :)

Wow sounds like the event went really well! I wish I could have heard what everyone had to say. This makes me excited for what the steem-cartoon community can become in the future!

The event went smoothly and lots of artist will come join and support the steem cartoon community.

Oh I see.. @stahlberg are my favorite too
Especially for his realistic drawing XD It's just awesome!! , Malaysia has a lot of talented artist and illustrator! =3

yup.. mr Stahlberg also has attend the event. Sadly I do not have the opportunity to meet up with him.

Great report. Now artist can literally feed themselves using Steem blockchain. Did yall mention Steem to the Datuk?

I think Sireh has mention about steemit to him.

Nice write-up, and thanks for the group photo! Pleased having to meet you all there! Till next time!

it was great to see you again.. tq bro :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51