Steem-Cartoon : Animation the Process

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

image

Not many people understand me when I tell them I am a background artist. Basically in Hollywood terminology I am the guy with the props. You won't realise my presence until I am no longer present. I provide the secondary scenes for every animation. I am the backdrop guy.

My Work


Basically my work is quite progressional. It consists of several steps and when combined you get a full picture. Here are the steps that will help anyone understand the process of animation.

image

You start with each individual props. These props will add depth to the entire backdrop.

image

Then there are several designs for each individual houses to be placed accordingly in the picture.

image

A basic house can be drawn but the details will be a play of tonal temperature to give it the edge and touch of realism.

image

Sometimes you will notice if you pay attention enough that some designs are similar and is a direct replica but because it is our secondar focus, we fail to notice it. What the animator did was merely to give it a different colouring. These are time saving techniques.

image

I show you one trick that if you are not attentive you will miss it. The first and second house on the right are from the same design but layered differently, coloured differently and sized differently. This is again a time saving technique that we always use to avoid designing countless of props.

image

The process after this is quite standard. Basic colouring.

image

Detailing.

image

Finer detailing.

image

Final Backdrop


So the final result is actually a manipulation of props, layering of each prop, colouring and manipulation of perspectives.

I hope that the little that I share helps shed some light in our dark world of animation. You wont realise my presence until I am absent.

image

I am the one on the right and my trusty partner and buddy @rambai.


APP.png

Sort:  

I know what it means to be the "backdrop guy". I've worked as background artist myself for several projects and know how much hard work was put into every scene. And an background artist is as important as every other artist. Without us the whole background where just black. :D
It's pretty cool stuff here. Thanks for sharing this with us and keep up the good work!

exactly what you say ..sometimes it's feel dizzy with so many color to process hahaha .. Thanks mate. glad to see another background artist in steemit.

WOW!!!! Your background & prop details are top-notch. I love the pleasant looking colours and details you add to the finalized result. Truly amazing.

This painting is a bit difficult for me to handle the color because it has block with line art..anyway thanks @zord189

I never really thought of that part of animation.. good job! It was a nice read

yes this is important part of production.Its bring looks and feel for the team..thanks @cristinahmuah.

gambar last abg ram kontrol ensem tu.. :) steem power up!!astonishing work jedi master!!

Dia aku punya tangkal utk post ni hahaha...

Saya "steemm.." tengok artwork2 masta @aurah ..TerAwesome! ^^

terima kasih @artzam work cari makan jer ni ..banyak kantoi nya lagi ..

Congratulations @aurah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice work bro. Next post buat video tutorial pulak bro (^^;)

Tak sempat lagi nak buat video bro . buat masa ni bizi dengan kerja..haha thanks rehan :) ...

Congratulations @aurah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44