Dragon for Practice

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

Thumbnail.jpg


It's been a while since I last draw a dragon, not to mention the coloring.. Gehh.. It brings me a headache, remembering it. I remember the first time I color a dragon, it looked like freaking made out of glass. This one is kinda a bit lacking compared to the previous dragon that I drew in 2017. I guess I lost my touch on the coloring. Welp, anyway just like the previous post, I'm gonna show a bit of my progress on the drawing.

Sketch

Sketch.jpg
I drew a bit of scale on the dragon's face, but since I was thinking of drawing the drawing the dragon inside an egg, I've decided not to use the scale since it's still a newborn.

Line Art

LineArt.jpg
Good Riddance scale!!

Base Color

Base.jpg
All hail to stereotype red color dragon!! Don't you dare ask other color than this once, since I've got no idea on what color to use and this is just a practice after all.

Egg Base Color

Egg base.jpg
The dragon's egg.... that's all I can say..... Welp! Next!!!

Final

Chibi Dragon(2) c.jpg
And the final with shading and lighting done to make it look like as if the dragon is still inside the egg. I've got no idea on what to draw for the background so I just decided on dark background so that I can make the egg glow. -GASP!!- It's a HOLY EGG!!!

And that's all for the dragon!
I need to practice more on it, especially the coloring... and background.. those two are my achilles heel after all...


  • Program Used - SAI / Photoshop
  • Time spent - 4.. 5 hours??
Sort:  

I think you have a pretty solid understanding of technique and shading. When it comes to colouring, always look at references for inspiration. For this drawing, I would have looked at references of lizards, frogs, birds because nature has some really wild colour choices. Think of your character and what does the colour say about them. There are a million ways you can approach colour. These are some steps that I would do so I hope it helps =)

Ohhh, nice~ Thanks for the advice!! Really appreciate it!

beautiful work, I really like your art and style, it's very good, I hope to keep seeing more, I liked the process a lot.
in me you have a new follower.
I invite you to see my art and I hope you like it.
Greetings from Venezuela.

Really? Thanks!
I've just seen your arts and I think you got lot of potential in drawing, especially your creativity with the watercolor drawing.

Also greetings from Malaysia.

Nice artwork process and the drake is to die for! <3

Waw awesome

Youre welcome @aonekochi can you give me comment in my blog. Cauze i like drawing to hehe

Sure! I would be more than glad to comment on your drawing when I have some free time! :D

Oke i'll be wait hhehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87