You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opinion Poll - Flagging on the Steemit Platform

in #steefun6 years ago

I'm glad to read this post, interesting that you mention it and actually take action with a poll.

I never used flagging yet as I expect that the ones I would like to flag have more power then me an may eventually use that power against me.

I would like to see what others think about this or to read a human readable outline of how flagging works in a newbie vs whale situation.

What system is in place to keep the fairness in balance?

Sort:  

Thanks @bifilarcoil for your insightful comment. That is indeed an excellent question, that will need to be addressed by the high SP users and/or witnesses themselves. They are the only true power and influence on the platform from what I have observed so far.

I'm only fairly new here myself, so I'm not really in a position to know the ins and outs of the platform and how it operates. I do however have my own opinion on the matter, which is probably obvious by now. I'm just trying to get the ball rolling, by getting some hard numbers, to enlighten everyone one way or the other whether users believe the system has been implemented in a fair and balanced fashion, that encourages everyone to use the platform without being punished and potentially driven away by frustration and feeling powerless.

So there actually is a "power structure"? (can't wait for a minimememe sayin "POWER STRUCTURE")

Sorry ...

I'm also very new here and it is very difficult to see what goes on behind the scenes. Just when you think you are gaining some insights, then something comes along that makes me question everything once again.

For now the 'implemented system' is completely unclear to me. The rules that i do see i tend to experience as 'monetary based' rules to impose limits on scammers. But as can be expected, anyone will use those very rules and tools of the implemented system for their own purpose, good or bad.

The platform is very young so it will take time to improve.

People who veeeery carefully play by the monetary based rules will make a lot of money.
But that only works for 'monetarians' (i just invented that word) The world is not about money, it's more about humanity. And even that is questionable. But for a platform like this the human aspect should be the foundation to build rules upon. Not money.
Since money is probably the very reason why this platform was created I wonder how that works.
I tried to read the documents on what the platform is based but the average user will not even go there.
This makes me wonder how this platform can ever become fair.

I see a huge potential in this kind of platform. Yet there should be a better balance.

I'm only scratching the surface here.

When people on the street speak to eachother they don't do monetary upvotes for 7 days and then base the rest of their lives on that. And then get flagged by bankers, without having the power push back.

As you can see there is a lot to think about.

Yep, its a huge conversation...

Lets hope they don't flag the messenger

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41