The Ten Commandments Of Steemit

in #steeemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians! It's your lady @mayib, the new custodian of the 'Steemit Ten Commandments'. I've been a member of this community since March 2018, but officially announced my presence on 16th April 2018, and for the past few days, I've been trying my best to understand how things play out here.

I received my first 'you talk too much warning' yesterday from 'seven almighty whales' who gave me 'seven beautiful down votes' after I made a comment on a post that probably didn't go down well with them. For the records, on the outside world, I'm not the type that blabs when there's nothing to say. And here in this community, I don't comment just because I want to get noticed. I usually comment if I feel a connection to the post or to the author.Even though my comments may not make sense all the time, if it's on my mind, then it's on my mind.

After my comment got down-voted, I did a little research to understand what I did wrong, and I realized it wasn't really about me. I was just caught up in a situation because I poke nosed and 'sang like a bird', when I was supposed to 'talk like a tortoise'. The situation made me have a really good laugh because the whales came on to me and devoured me like they hadn't had dinner for a whole year. By the time they were done with me, I lost my singing voice and now, I can only talk like a tortoise. But no matter how slow a tortoise talks, his voice still gets heard.

But hey! This doesn't mean I won't continue being myself, it only means that I will be more tactical in my comments and not just jump on every post to comment. (not that I was doing that anyways.)

After my experience and not wanting others to experience the same, I thought to draft 'The Ten Commandments Of Steemit' (which some of us already know about, but still fail to obey them.) Please be informed that these commandments were not handed to me by 'Moses', cos he had died before I was born. I got these commandments from fellow Steemians and decided to put them together in one piece.

So without further ado, let's check these commandments out.

Steemit First Commandment:

Thou shall not beg for up votes: Cos if you do, some 'hungry whales' who haven't had dinner since this morning (not last night) may decide to devour you, and retain you in their belly to be used for their next lunch in the up coming week. Ha! ha! ha! I'm just kidding! But seriously, try to obey this commandment and let's keep this community morally upright.

Steemit Second Commandment:

Thou shall ask for up votes. I know you're about to question this commandment by saying: "Really"? "So I cannot beg for up votes, but I can ask for my post to be up voted"? "This must be a typographical error"!
Nay... Chill out Steemians! This commandment contains no typographical error, and it's as good as valid.

Listen up, there's a difference between 'beg' and 'ask' which can be found only in the 'Steemit dictionary'. In case you're lost, 'ask' denotes high class, while 'beg' denotes low class. The rich are fond of asking, while the poor are used to begging.

So fellow Steemians, don't beg for up votes! Ask, and it shall be given unto you. Little wonder almost all the posts I've come across contains the following message: "Don't forget to comment, up vote and resteem." So from my understanding, it's okay to ask for up votes, but sucks to beg for one.

Steemit Third Commandment:

Thou shall not sing like a bird; but learn to talk like a tortoise.
Some Steemians rush to comment on every post even if the post is in Spanish and they only understand French. My dear Steemians, before commenting on any post, understand what the author is talking about, digest it, then you can go ahead and post your comment. But if you have nothing to say,then just smile over the post and fly...... as much as your wings can carry you. Otherwise you will receive the same 'VIP' treatment I got yesterday.

Steemit Fourth Commandment:

Thou shall not pay for up votes. I know you're thinking: "Then why the heck are the bidbots selling up votes to some Steemians"?

Don't get it twisted! the bidbots ain't selling up votes (at least none that I know of.) but rather doing something else. I will let you know about what they are up to in the fifth commandment.

Steemit Fifth Commandment:

Thou shall pay to promote your post. Viola! This is what the bidbots do: to promote your post, not up vote them. But I know you may be thinking: "Why would I want to promote my post if no one is gonna up vote them"?

Hey! Don't be like that. Remember you're not in California, but right here in the 'Steemit community'. And here in this community, it's all about sharing and giving without any strings attached. So give, share and give again without expecting a medal or a certificate in return.

But if you're rewarded for your kind gestures, fine. otherwise, then just continue doing your part, and your conscience will reward you by making you feel good.

TO BE CONTINUED....... #mayibtalks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83