Sharks and gold.

in #steamsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Today I want to feature the three coin Shark Series from the Perth Mint. I picked these up over the holidays because the were on sale and who doesn't like sharks. I also have a couple of other things to share but we'll get to that in a minute.

0124181710_HDR.jpg

0124181711_HDR.jpg

The Shark Series was an APMEXclusive mintage with 300000 max minted. I looked up the actual number minted was 105,000 for the Tiger Shark, 155,000 for the Hammerhead, and 298,000 for the Great White. I don't think they did very well with the sales from the look of the minting and them being on sale. They were minted one a year starting in 2014 with the Great White Shark, 2015 was the Hammerhead, and 2016 they finished with the Tiger Shark. They are half ounce coins and I like the look and design of them. With the low mintage and look of the coin I think it's a great buy if you find them on sale.

0124181718_HDR.jpg

Now here I have a 2015 Silver American Eagle I bought in the last few months from Apmex. It looked fine when I got it and I was sorting and repackaging some of my silver I noticed the toning. First thing that popped into my head was this was sold to me BU I should return it. After looking at it the toning is a nice rainbow hue. Well the question is should I keep it?

0124181716a_HDR.jpg

I promised gold so here is one of my best pieces. That is a piece of crystallized gold, it came from the Little Johnny Mine in Leadville Colorado. I also got this over the holidays it weighs 4.1 grams and is an amazing specimen. The mine opened in 1883 and was actually a lead and silver mine to begin with. I could do a whole post on the mine sometime if there is interest. Thanks for taking a look.

Sort:  

Would love to get a hold of the actual gold vane such as the one you purchased, is it available online, or do you have to go to the Little Johnny Mine, great post, sharks are sharks.......

My girlfriend purchased it at a mineral show in the Boulder Colorado area when she was there. I think you can find them online but they are a little expensive.

Yeah man! I enjoy that shark set too. The Great White was usually like $13-16, but in december APMEX had for 'em for like $10 or so... so I stocked up. Got like six sets in capsules. I'll flip 'em eventually, hehe.

They will go up.

Hi that toning looks weird but does not bother me nor most stackers (who may have plenty of silver). Do you cover them for the light ?

Yeah it really doesn't bother me much. Do you mean cover them from the light for storage. Yes thet are stored out of the light.

Yes that is what I meant. So it cannot be the light causing this pattern.

I liked the shark designs just wish they had more relief to them.

Good point.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65927.86
ETH 3481.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66