Steampunk Trunk Coffee Table

in #steampunk7 years ago

I’ve always loved the coolness of metal and the awesome structure of machinery in the days where products were made to last. It wasn’t until a few years ago I discovered this interest of style have a name, steampunk. I now have a name to look for more things and information for this obsession of mine. I tried steampunk-theming (if that’s even a word) one of the spare rooms, and here’s the first project: A trunk coffee table. It’s been done a lot, but I thought I’d start small. Just wanted to share the end result here because I was so excited about it.

Bought an old trunk from an online site for $25

IMG-20140924-WA0002.jpeg

Arming myself with some sandpaper and paint, I started working on it. 2 weeks later, this is what it looks like:

IMG-20140928-WA0004.jpeg

Now, to make it into an actual piece of furniture, I got myself some cabinet legs because I’m not handy enough to make wooden legs for it, I must admit it did look a bit odd, so with some frustrations, I decided to paint it white, maybe I should have gone with bronze, but since this is my first proper DIY project, I'll just leave it as is. Another week of fiddling about, I am quite happy I now have a nice looking coffee table.

IMG-20141220-WA0024.jpg

Sort:  

hello i just upvoted you
follow me bro
lets help each other :)

Interesting thoughts

Congratulations @alexuswood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48