Sort:  

The dollar amount is based upon the market capitalization of Steem. Half of it is paid out in Steem Dollars which means that half of it is "very real". The value is derived entirely from speculators on the platform.

I'd love to see your reply to my comment because I'm interested to see what kind of payout would be expected, but across two browsers and even on my phone my post and your reply don't show.

Your comment is empty.. what's your question?

I was just also curious how the payouts would work. I put up what I thought the payout would be according to how I interpreted the numbers and Dan said I was wrong and went to discuss what payout for 1000 post would be, but both my comment and his reply disappeared before I could read his reply.

Half of the amount show goes to the poster, half goes to the author, half goes to voters. Of the half going to authors, half of that is paid in steem dollars, which can be "cashed out" by trading it via a cryptocurrency exchange (or an exchange service such as blocktrades). The other half is Steem Power (sort of like karma) which can not be immediately cashed out, but can be liquidated slowly over two years if you choose to.

These rules are expected to change somewhat, but the basic idea of Steem Dollars and Steem Power will remain.

All payouts are on hold for the initial launch period until July 4. After that they will be paid after 24 hours.

So are you saying 50% of the total goes to OP then that gets split 50/50 across OP's Steem Power and Steem Dollars?

That is the current mechanism, yes. Changes are being considered by the devs.

guess u are talking about the Dollar amount here right ?
This Dollar amount is the balance i have into your wallet account.. it depends on how much of your STEEM u POWERED UP - better to have vested for 104 weeks or easier to say 2 years .. if u POWER DOWN then u will get this amount divided with 104 weeks as a weekly payout .. hope this helps

From what I've gathered the amount at the bottom of a post gets split 50/50 to Steem Power and Steem at payout. You can "cash out" Steem however right now it's only worth about 39 cents to every Steem dollar/token. So if I understand it correctly, a post with $1000 shown will be able to cash out $195 USD when all is said and done. Think like this... 1000/2=500 and 500x.39=195. I don't know if I'm 100% accurate with that and things are subject to fluctuation.

If I'm way off with this and someone can straighten me out, please do!

You are way off. Some of this stuff is still being tweaked, but a post that shows $1000 will have the author receive the following:

  • $350 worth of Steem Dollars which will be worth about $350 real dollars
  • $350 worth of Steem Power which would be worth $350 real dollars if you could sell at the current market price of Steem

Additionally those who comment on the post will share $300 which will also be split 50/50 between Steem Power and Steem Dollars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60202.34
ETH 2423.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43