PUBG Complete 1.0 Optimization Guide for Competitive play

in #steam7 years ago

Overview

I decided to write this because I've had PUBG a while, and even though I enjoy playing it I was getting subpar FPS pretty regularly with my R9 270x (about 15-30.) What was especially bad, the frame rate would tank as soon as a firefight would begin which caused an already annoying situation to become a rage inducing one.

I've seen various optimization guides around the net, but they're primarily for NVidia set ups. After tinkering with my Radeon settings I've achieved 55-75 fps with no noticeable FPS loss during firefights (yay!)

It's worth noting that this guide will primarily be focused on optimizing settings for your GPU. If your processor is limiting your gameplay then you may not see a significant improvement.

In Game Settings

Display Mode: Fullscreen technically gives you a bit better performance over Fullscreen (Windowed) but makes tabbing out a bit of a pain.

Resolution: I keep mine at 1080 as it helps for spotting other players.

FPS Camera Field of Vision (FOV): I have this setting maxed out as it allows you to see more of your surroundings. In theory it should make FPS go down as the game has to render more things, however there are players reporting a slight FPS boost with this setting increased. (I played with it and noticed no difference)


I have everything set to very low here except textures (only because I wanted to be able to read my new Winner Winner shirt). The only one you may want to increase is the view distance as it can help with picking a spot to land when jumping from the plane in the beginning of the game.
It is important for performance that V-Sync and Motion Blur are both disabled here.

GPU Settings

Note: First things first, make sure your drivers are up to date. The link in the next paragraph will lead you to the download portal for either Nvidia or AMD.

These are the settings found in either your Nvidia Control Panel or your AMD Settings application. If you don't have your respective program, then download it from either the Nvidia or AMD website.

Nvidia

  • Open up your Nvidia Control Panel
  • Under 3D Settings tab on the left, click Manage 3D settings.
  • Click the Program Settings tab, then click Add
  • Navigate to the pubg executable (Typically found at C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\PUBG\TslGame\Binaries\Win64\TslGame.exe )
  • Make sure Threaded Optimization is set to On
  • Maximum pre-rendered frames to 1
  • Set Preferred Refresh Rate to "Highest Available"
  • Disable V-Sync

AMD

  • Open Radeon Settings
  • Click the Gaming tab
  • Find Player Unknown in the list and click on it.
  • Change your settings to mirror the following image.

It has been reported that launching PUBG directly by clicking the executable makes it run better than opening it through steam, but I haven't been able to confirm any difference in FPS.

These settings more than doubled my average FPS in game, and was tested by another players who was uses an RX 470 and he is comfortably over 100 fps now during gameplay.

Other reported methods

If your processor is struggling to keep up with the game, Windows may not be using all of your processor's cores. You can enter your control panel while the game is running and change the processor priority to High by right clicking PUBG in the list.

Some people are reporting a massive performance boost from the following method (some as high as double FPS.)

  • Navigate to C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\PUBG\TslGame\Binaries\Win64
  • Right click on TslGame.exe and select properties
  • In the settings section, check "Override High DPI scaling behavior" (in win 8 it is "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings")
  • Make sure Application is selected in the drop down menu
  • Press OK.
    Note: I was unable to do this method as the options were grayed out for me in Win 7. This is because my PUBG install is on a mapped drive. I was still able to make the game run great even without this method, but I would strongly suggest trying it because of how much success has been reported.

I hope this helps all of you who are struggling with FPS issues in PUBG, please leave a comment and let me know of any success or troubles.

Thanks for reading

-Shuvel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38