Gargoyle For Statue Friday

in #statuefriday5 years ago (edited)

My entry for the #statuefriday Challenge by @erikah.

I saw this gargoyle at a cement place here on Prince Edward Island, Canada. There were tons of statues for sale.

In medieval times gargoyles were touted to scare off evil. They were made to look like grotesque faces of humans or animals.

Often the gargoyle statue had an open mouth used to divert rainwater.

Many ancient churches and cathedrals have gargoyles as part of their outside design.

The most well-known gargoyles in the world are on Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris.



image



I’ll admit to be fascinated by the gargoyle and thought it would look nice at the end of the driveway, especially at Halloween. Hubs was going to buy it for me but the owner wasn’t sure about the delivery in our area.

Perhaps he wanted to keep it as he wasn’t keen on the sale. I wondered if he needed it to drive off some evil force plaguing the place.

Gargoyle can be seen from the highway. Now when I drive by the cement works, I always remark,

”There’s my gargoyle!”



A couple more statues at the cement works:


Mermaid Fountain

image


View of more statues at the same location:


Jesus and Mary

image




The days for the challenge and the categories:

#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks (bricks only, no pavement elements or cobblestones please)
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag @erikah.




image


Click symbols to redirect







Picture1.png



Sort:  

7 days outside huh? Where are you @erikah? These are real good! I especially like the mermaid :)

Thank @thealliance. Sweet of you. 💕 🧜‍♀️

My pleasure 😉

Here I am @thealliance! What's the problem?

Nice find, my dear. I think gargoyles are very interesting architectural elements. I've read once that Greeks and Egyptians used gargoyles on their building as means of water diversion.

Thanks my dear Roxy. Yes, I also read they used gargoyles as rainwater diversion. 😊

Good one 👍

Thanks radhapatil! 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Cute gargoyle. The world needs more gargoyle. They are so interesting. Odd how they can seem kind of friendly like this one.

Thanks @steven-patrick. Happy you see you the gargoyle as I do. 😊

Great photos @redheadpei, thanks for participating!

Thanks and thanks for stopping by @erikah. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87