You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem - Get to Know the Witnesses (Part 2)

in #stats7 years ago

This is a very cool analysis, thank you! I have a document where I regularly add ideas for things I want to blog on and one of the entries is to analyze witness posting and commenting. This is something I think is important for this position. You did a much better job than I would have breaking it down. :)

I think as time goes on, witnesses will start to expand their skill sets by either growing themselves or hiring others. For strong communicators, they will hire C++ programmers and/or entrepreneurs. For strong technical witnesses who don’t communicate much, I think they will hire marketing teams to explain what they are up to. I think it’s just going to get better and better.

Thanks for putting this together so I can just resteem it instead of dong it myself. :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the contribution and the resteem @lukestokes.

I think as time goes on, witnesses will start to expand their skill sets by either growing themselves or hiring others. For strong communicators, they will hire C++ programmers and/or entrepreneurs. For strong technical witnesses who don’t communicate much, I think they will hire marketing teams to explain what they are up to.

Very interesting perspective.

I am still working through my picks for witnesses, I will also analyse:

  • tags that witnesses use, and a bit of sentiment analysis on their writing to get to know a bit more about their interests and motivations.
  • the historical voting patterns for witness votes.
    In particular are there any witnesses that have received a lot of unvotes?

If there are any additional things you think would be interesting to examine to help inform someone's vote please let me know and I will do my best to capture it in a picture.

I got a great idea from @richq11 to include information about what projects that witnesses are working on. I will also analyse that if I can get enough data from somewhere. It may be harder to cover comprehensively.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.44
ETH 2350.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52