Asia traffic passes Europe. Is the US to be overtaken next?

in #stats7 years ago (edited)

Only time will tell but the next couple of weeks are going to get very interesting, especially with the latest corrective developments on the crypto markets.

I have been watching this emerging traffic trend closely, since late last week, when Asian and European traffic were basically tied on the 20th.

Asia since passed Europe this week and the new trend has held even into the week-end dip.

The Asian curve fits an exponential, this month, while the others are more linear. On this basis the Green (Asia) curve has been slowly catching up to the Yellow curve(Europe), and has now passed it. If these trends hold, the red(Americas) will be under threat of loosing the top spot soon.

If we look at the year to date Returning Traffic, by continent, we see that the Asian traffic upswing began quietly in March already, while the other regions only began to wake up later in April.

The Asian traffic as usual is led by eastern Asia.

Bitcoin and everything else are undergoing major price corrections from their bubble like recent growth. This has impacted the price of STEEM significantly and with STEEM price drops we usually see a drop in Western traffic.

Under these conditions of a lower STEEM price and if Asia and specifically Korea continue their viral growth, we could, quite conceivably, see Asian traffic outstripping the Americas next.

Sort:  

The lower income countries will prevail for sure. My upvote on comment is $3. Can you imagine what this mean to poor boy in Africa? Fuck the unicef leaches. We can do it much better.

interesting perspective in considering how both the currency and the platform may be viewed in different parts of the world. We are all coming from different worlds, so to speak, and will both use and see Steemit in different ways. I think this point you made is what makes this community of people from various walks of life so interesting.

That's the magic of steemit. It's just the meter of time people will realize this. But it's coming.

I just upvoted and it was $.02. Growing slowly... :)

You see. One cent for each one.

Great point and for the 100's of millions of unemployed and unable to ever get a job
Followed

This is not a charity. That doesn't mean you can't vote your stake as such - just that poor boy in Africa needs to be making quality content to win, there are certainly many users in a position to make his life better. Free him from the shackles of his country's crap economy.

I was trying to say that there are so many different ways to use steemit platform for. Blogging is just one of them and it's the main one right now. It will be less important in the future when people will discover what steemit platform is capable. Don't expect 100 million bloggers here. It's just not gonna happen. Even in United states most of people are not capable blogging. I'm hope you understand my poin of view.

I agree with your view. Decenteralized systems will be shaped by their users.

In a year or two we'll not gonna recognize steemit. USA and EU population is in minority comparing to the rest of the world. They gonna flood steemit like locusts. That's my vision, anyway. I could be wrong. We'll see.

There better be plenty of user controls - I read English, Spanish and some Chinese. I don't want to see any posts but those in English.

I am exited however about the worldwide aspect of this community!

I cannot agree with you more on this. Very distracting to see posts of languages I do not understand.

Blockchain clutter is real

I think Russia and India will be big explosions, but then again I know very little about those cultures and how they would look at the platform. There is a nice Indian presence here now, it's a little worrying to think of a huge influx coming from India though after seeing how that affects the translation job market online.

Awesome idea, but would the huge influx make it harder to earn a buck at steemit?

The one thing I love about the steemit community is just how multi-cultural and intermixed it is. It gets us all exposed to a lot of viewpoints we might miss in our own respective cultural bubbles. Its great to see the Asian traffic increasing, and its also great to see ALL traffic increasing. Whether or not this can be sustained during this now occurring price correction remains to be seen, but I look forward to future analytics. I really enjoy posts like what you are doing here @gavvet, and what @arcange is doing as well. Great stuff.

Yup, plenty of cultural and other diversity here.

I agree, steem is a mixing bowl - much different than the English and USA dominated Reddit. I am very exited to see content from other nations becoming successful on this platform. I do think that coming in the future, steemit will need to provide features to segregate the different languages on the platform. As much as I enjoy seeing the delicious kimchi posts in kr, there are going to be many English speaking users who do not find much value in seeing kr posts and vice versa. Because of the low volume of posts today - this is not a problem but I believe it will be eventually.

I look forward to watching steem grow to new countries across the planet! Keep steem multicultural - give users more tools to see more of the content they want.

@kyle.anderson @justryme90 @gavvet Is it possible to have not only Sub-communities but could Steemit do what Google Chrome does, which gives the viewer the option of transcribing a language into English or better yet... have the ability to transcribe either direction. Meaning if You are from Korea, You can go to the English version of Steemit... read the article & then perhaps use that English post and build upon the post in Korean... and vice versa.

This would really make Steemit Globally understood, no matter what language the post is written in.

I'm 9 days new so perhaps this is already being done... learning something new almost every 5 mins

@gavvet UpVoted, Following & will Resteem... please consider following me. Thanks

           ~~~ STEEM !!! ~~~

Fantastic points. I think that some services could facilitate an accurate translation market here on steem - one that would allow for many users to experience the multicultural aspects of the steem community, and vote more accurately on content. Some of the English version's payout could be distributed to the translators.

@kyle.anderson Yes... and I like Your idea for a portion of the payout being distributed to the translators.

Quite frankly, I'd love to be able to read what other people around the globe write about in their native language. Why should a person be restricted to only 1, 2, 3, etc. languages when it comes to understanding & learning from other parts of the world ?

@kyle.anderson Thank You for responding back !!

UpVoted & Followed... please consider following me. Thanks again !!

Have a Great Weekend Kyle !!

Sub-communities should really fix all these issues. Each community will be able to individually thrive and yet all still mix together.

Yeah, I think this along with more powerful front-end visibility tools will do just that.

I feel like we have the best from every nation on here right now. I read lots of quality content from people from all over, but "the masses" are different, so as much as I know steemit growing is inevitable and almost necessary, it is a little bit intimidating to imagine. Things are just so peaceful here now, I really love it.

Honestly I'm interested in watching how it all unfolds.

what's about India ?? how much visitors ??

India is the yellow line in the middle graph, growing and adding to Asian growth, its just not as viral as Eastern Asia, led by Korea, is right now.

Because of the lack of awareness about Steem in India.

I have been a Steemian for over a month and still trying to learn the ropes - like why vote for witnesses? How will it affect Steem and me?

What are the true responsibilities of a witness?

I still have so many unanswered questions and finding answers is like the proverbial 'needle in the haystack' there isn't a single 'knowledge base' to refer to.

We will overtake the whole world one day.

Unite the whole world one day*

Steemit could do that one day.

america's conquest days are over.

Hello my friend
thank you for these information
Why not see Africa among the traffic?

Resteem This Post

Africa is the blue line at the bottom of the top two graphs

That's really quite fantastic news and statistics @gavvet , i'm very excited to see more asian presence on steemit. For the longest of time, i've tried to keep the majority of my posts in both Chinese and English (even though it takes so much time !) hopefully we'll see a resurgence in the #cn activity sooner rather than later!

I read complaints that pictures hosted on Steemit no longer load for many (perhaps most) Chinese users.

It may be necessary that someone host a version of Steemit.com in China, with a mirror for images to make them work.

Yeah and when that happen the people except KR will run to Golos (as they will put on the English frontend soon).

What are the incentives to run to Golos? Why everyone but the kr folk?

It is cheaper - so I can power up accounts for the future (as we all think that it grow). Why KR not.... well they earn here good :)

Haha ^ good points. What is the USD payouts for Golos look like compared to steem?

I'm not so sure about that...

@gavvet we will have to get Africa steeming!! We are way down on the graphs!!💻🖥📱📈

In the end traffic growth is they key ingredient. I'm open for it to come from anyone, so long as it comes on coming :-)

True, all growth is good growth!!!

You are right.
Korea steemit society is very active.

You have some powerful members who can reward kr posts. That help newcomers a lot and also spread good word about steemit in Korea. Nothing wrong with this.

You need to understand that many koreans are not convenient to read and write in English, so they get together.
This made them powerful, in my opinion.
I also help newbies in kr with the belief that this will help steemit bigger.
Korean is very IT friendly, so the faster steemit spread in korea, the faster success of smeemit will be.

Good point. I would like to see stemmit to go in this direction with communities. The more the better. I think that separated sites, like golos, for instance, are not necessary.

why not.
In that point, I agree with you

I'm not against golos or some other project. You can have community for every language here on steemit, you don't need another site and another token.

I understand what you want to tell me.
We have a same thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52