You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When do whales upvote relative to publication time?

in #stats8 years ago

Great analysis !

Most whales upvote after the curation penalty cutoff, taking all curation rewards for the upvote.

This also increases the curation reward for the early curators.

Sort:  

This is a great point. An altruistic whale could be seen as a whale who either upvotes very soon to give their curation reward to the author, or a whale who votes very late to increase the reward of previous curators.

It would be interesting to see your analysis of the voting patterns regarding comments/replies.
Your analysis is only for root posts, right ?

Very smart question. Most people just look at the charts and the conclusion.

The intention was to make it about root posts, but I forgot to filter. Luckily the comment from @bacchist alerted me to my mistake, and the charts are now up to date.

Great critical thinking. I'm following you now.

I wouldnt find that analysis interesting though :) but nevermind me...

From the whitepaper:

One of the primary goals of Steem's reward system is to produce the best discussions on the internet

That's why I find that interesting.
I don't see good comments being rewarded

Good discussion requires back and forth posting. When you reply to someone else they get 50% of any payout you receive in that thread [...]

This hasn't been implemented yet, or I don't understand it right ...

Until then it would be nice to see, why and how comments get a reward.
Especially from whales.

I think I missed the memo on the timing of a vote...I thought early voting was the key to curation rewards. This is saying you need to wait 15 minutes to avoid a vote "penalty." Would this have something to do with the 5 vote limit for users above 300 SP? Help. :0)

The penalty is at 30 minutes. It was added because the bot @wang (I think) gamed the system and was upvoting as soon as posts were published. Keep in mind that those who vote sooner are rewarded more than those who vote later. It's a reverse auction. Yes, it's also complicated.

So I guess the question is, WHEN should I vote? Can you point out a good source of info. on the subject, for a minnow? I guess it depends on the article, whether it's new or hot....but I thought I had this figured out. Now....not so much.

I'll be following you. This post was certainly enlightening. You put a lot of effort into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97