Steem - Voting Activity & Steem Health Part 2

in #stats6 years ago (edited)

Can we use Voting Activity as an indicator of the health of the system?



We already look at posting activity and post payout activity through several different lenses. What patterns emerge if we examine levels of voting activity over time.

In this short series I will look at the different metrics which can be monitored over time. I will use feedback from this series to build reports that provide this snapshot on a regular basis.
The reports I produce depend on steemdata which seems to have been out of synch for the last few weeks so apologies for no regular reports last week or this week.

There is much debate over Voting Circles, and Paid for Voting Services not to mention Self Upvoting. This analysis does not intend to make a judgement on any of these activities but rather provide some insights which we will share on a regular basis.

Paid for Voting

How are Votes per Day for paid voting services tracking over time?



  • This graphs shows a breakdown of the daily number of Votes between Promotion Bots and Other. The Promotion Bots are further split (Bid, Promotion and Other) as based on the classifications on steembottracker.com
  • This graph doesnt show the values paid for voting bots but it is interesting to see how these categories will track over time.

Can we further break down the purple bars into automated and manual votes?

How many people are using services such as @Steemvoter on a daily basis? This is harder to identify as we need to make an assumption about the behaviour. There are two accounts that I know don't use voting bots but are pretty active on Steemit. Myself and @noisy. Our votes in February look like this



  • I vote a lot at the weekend when I look in detail at posts from the @culturevulture challenge.

Automated Voting

Based on this small sample size and some statistics from the data I have chosen an arbitrary cutoff of 30 votes per day to distinguish between automated and manual account voting.

  • Of course you can set up a voting bot with just one account that may post infrequently and we wont capture that but I propose that using a reasonable cutoff we can see differences in the community that are using automatic voting and those that vote manually.



  • 40% of votes (on average) over the month are from automated voting.
  • The proportion that is automated is fairly constant
  • This implies new accounts aren't signing up to or getting the benefit of these services. Is this a problem?

Join me tomorrow where we will take a closer look at the distribution of Votes across different accounts. Who is the most prolific downvoter?

Related Posts

Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency and Travel.
Stock Images thanks to pixabay.com

Sort:  

Hi again! About using bots to get votes... I feel guilty! Buying votes just doesn’t seem authentic. I see A LOT of them out there... just doesn’t sit right with me. Maybe I’m missing something? Or looking at it wrong?

There are a few ways you can view buying votes but at the moment it seems like this is what it takes to make it to the trending page.

How do you feel about using it to promote your content if you think it's worth getting a message out?

Well, when you put it that way... I DO want to brighten more people’s days with my silliness! 😃 Jeff and I have a lot of fun. 😋 Do you have a recommendation on where a newbie would start using bots? I know nothing, nada, zip about it! Maybe I will try it before I make a final judgement. Thx @eroche!

This implies new accounts aren't signing up to or getting the benefit of these services. Is this a problem?

How do you get to that conclusion?

We are seeing more accounts being registered but the numbers voting automatically is fairly constant which suggests no change.

There could be other reasons for this but that is what I would infer from this limited data set.

Because I'm seeing other votes (besides auto votes) keep constant as well. But you have a point here.

Your right in that. I would say manual votes will see more change in terms of cohorts of voters, but maybe what we are seeing is retention being offset by new voters.

Autovotes could be less affected by retention, once you set it up it keeps going, but I guess that's a big assumption considering some are paid for services.

Thanks for info I agree with you
> What patterns emerge if we examine levels of voting activity over time.
> Our votes in February look like this Based on this small sample size and some statistics from the data I have chosen an arbitrary cutoff of 30 votes per day to distinguish between automated and manual account voting.

hmmm! great post to ponder on. nice post @eroche!

A very useful post

The pattern that emerged is expected. As a new user, I'm usually compelled to employ the services of voting bots because of the steem power benefit and I guess thats why a vast majority of steemians employ these bots because the wealth and "attention money" like I call it is in the hands of the 1% who either caught the wave early enough or have the means to invest large sums into their account

40 percent automated voting still looks fine deal if its constant. Do u suggest using automated posting?

I am a neutral observer here 😀

got that :)
thanks for helping
Blessingss...!

Thanks for the info I agree with you

  • What pattern arises if we check the level of voting activity over time.
  • Our vote in February looks like this some statistics from my data have selected 20 pieces of vote per day that distinguish between automatic and manual voting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45