Steem - Get to Know the Witnesses (Part 6)

in #stats6 years ago

Did you know you can let someone vote for witnesses on your behalf?

Witnesses secure the Steem Blockchain. It's an important role and each and every account holder gets 30 Witness Votes. These votes elect the Witnesses that get trusted with the job.

If you want to have your say and make your vote count but you don't know who to vote for, is there anything you can do?



Image pixabay.com

Not everyone has the time to decide and choose which witnesses should get their vote. Do you have time to keep updating your vote for active witnesses?

What are your options for making your vote count?

I began a short series a few days ago, Steem - Get to Know the Witnesses. In this series I an analysing the digital footprint of the witnesses to get to know them a bit better and help inform my witness vote. I welcome discussion during this series and I hope it raises awareness of who we are electing to manage the Steem Blockchain.

There may be different philosophical reasons in the community for choosing witnesses and this analysis (and my choices) are not intended to judge right or wrong but I wish to inform the community what the different witnesses have written about, what they stand for and how active they are in the community.

Furthermore this discussion is not intended to be technical in nature but will instead look at some Graphics and Stats to help us get to know our witnesses.


Proxy Votes

You can delegate other accounts to vote for Witnesses on your behalf. This is a really useful feature if you wish to have a say but don't want to keep updating your witness vote, or spend the time researching it in the first place.
You may trust another member of the community to keep up to date with the witness votes on your behalf.

Vote For a Witness or Vote for a Proxy



Trusted Accounts

The following list shows the accounts that are the main recipient of Proxy Votes. It may a starting point for in deciding which account to delegate your proxy vote to.

  • Some of the names on this list I had not heard of before, so do a little research before giving them your proxy.

  • The largest Steemit account that delegates Proxy is @freedom, this account delegates to @pumpkin.
    A useful way to manage security of your Steem account is to delegate authority for posting, voting etc. to other accounts that do not have access to your active key. I would guess this is what @freedom does here and it is worth considering if you have a large balance in your account in order to reduce the risk of hackers stealing the active key to your main account.

Further Reading

If you're still undecided this post by @lukestokes from some months back may give you more information: Steemit is Free, But Your Witness Vote Determines its Future.

Previous Posts in This Series

This is the last post in this series, next week I will be reviewing who I am voting for in detail. I would urge you to do the same.

This series has raised many interesting questions for me about witness votes. Who is voting and for whom. Next week week I will begin a follow up series that will analyse the current Witness Votes and Proxies as they stand. There are a few accounts which allocate the majority of the vests and are pivotal in determining the ranking of the witnesses ...


Thank you for reading. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency and Travel.

Sort:  

Oh it's so a pity that you don't speak french, I am / I have interviewed severals french witnesses to show the french community how important it is to know and vote for them ! :D

Thank you @eroche for the awesome work, I would like to take references, but I did not choose any proxy now, I had been taking steemgigs before .. I do not know more about proxy system, but your post awesome to read and growth my knowledge about platform :)

No i didn't know this thing ever before reading your article, thanks for sharing such a helpful information with us...

Terimakasih postingan anda sangat bermamfaat saya akan menunggu postingan selanjutnya

Nice post @eroche very helpful
Thank for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65