You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem - Comment Data and Automated Accounts

in #stats7 years ago

I can tell you a small fact but I don't know if it helps with your question.

By 'users', I am thinking you mean people who are active.

At the time I did this exercise, I was posting 5 articles a day that seemed good quality to me but was getting hardly any comments and votes. I had 504 followers. I expected a better response rate so I looked into how many were still active users. By 'active user', I meant someone whose account showed activity within the last week.

I visited every follower of my account both on Steemit and Busy if they were on there. It took 3 days because it was a soul-destroying task. At the time there was a drive on recruiting new users by visiting places like universities, and posts saying how successful it was, were frequent.

Out of 504, only 26 were active users. 202 had posted between 5 and 10 times in 2 weeks of joining, then ceased activity.

The rest were between 0 and 5, posted as soon as they joined then never again, 136 of them had never posted.

I was shocked. I understood why I was in the position of having 504 followers but a tiny response rate. My 504 was really 26.

It's such a small sample that no overall judgement can be made about Steemit but it was relevant to me. In my judgement, none of the 26 active Steemians were bots.

Could such an exercise be carried out universally? Maybe the bot plague could help somehow. An account like Guillaume Cardinal's would be a better sample.

I apologise in advance if this reply is a time waster for you.

Sort:  

This is exactly the reason why I am doing this exercise. There are often numbers quoted which, in my opinion , don't give a very meaningful picture of how many people are on Steemit. How many real users are there (as opposed to bots), how many active users are there?, how many people have joined and never posted?, What group of people are posting regularly, is it new users, old users, the same people all the time???

There is a site but it doesn't seem to be working for me this morning but you might check it out called Dead Followers

This let you see the stats for any account to see how many active followers there are. What would be really nice to see would be a comparison of accounts that shows how many have the most active followers. Ill try to visualise this in the coming days. That would be really interesting to see.

Thanks for the contribution and ideas.

Thank you for replying. Your investigation is very interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59226.54
ETH 2603.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42