You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit's Top Self Voters: 07 July 2017 Report

in #stats7 years ago

"This report looks at Steemit users who 'self vote' on their own posts and comments. This report identifies voters who are currently engaging most actively in the practice but does not pass judgement on whether it is right or wrong."
The answer of right and wrong should be found and clarified as well.

Sort:  

Well, there is nothnig wrong about voting for yourself. It is just all about your attitude - if you share something valuable for the others or if you just harvest Steem Power while posting craps.
There is always an option to flag somebody if you can't stand what he or she does. Or we shall simply discuss, vote fairly and/or support projects such are @minnowsupport. And care about ourselves, because neither of us can force somebody to do something.

I, personally, vote for any of my posts but (almost) none of my comments. I prefer to vote for the others who helped me or opened my eyes in some way. However, my vote worths about one cent, hence a week later, there is no profit of it.

I agree with your sentiment @godfish - if you are voting for your own blog posts that's normal. If you are voting for the occasional comment to push it to the top of a heated discussion to make it more visible then that's also fine.

However - if you check out some of the people from the posts above. 'Tard's' recent comments are just the numbers up to 116 (https://steemit.com/@tard/comments) repeated, which they come back a few days later and upvote when their steem power recovers. In the past they just kept commenting 'test' and upvoting themselves.

I am not here to judge anybody. I don't have spare money to invest into Steem Power (If I counted it correctly, 100 Steem Power gives you about 0.035 USD per vote and cost aprox. 165USD).

So I just try to do my best and together with my friends we are building up the Czech community, since we all believe that Steemit's future is bright. And we want to help our fellows, most of them don't speak English enough to be able to write English posts. It is not easy but we believe in it. You can check it yourself: #cesky.

If I invested money into SP, I would most definitely support my mates and myself. It is an investition and I would expect some revenues of it. As anybody else. But still, I believe in sharing, mutual respect and donating, hence i wouldn't kept my voting power for myself.

Still, it is just a therory. Send me about one million SP and we will see :))

anyway, thank you for the discussion, I appreciate people like you. I am following you by now and I am pretty sure we'll continue our chat above some other post soon :)

It's quite a heated discussion - the arguments against self voting are pretty obvious. On the other hand, people who have invested a lot of their personal money into Steemit feel it is their right to self-vote to maximise their return on investment.

Honestly it is fiscal responsibility. However, it is bad for Steemit. Folks who self vote are either trapped by their SP being linked to their VP, or don't understand that using votes to encourage others for the content you like, encourages them to reciprocate. For accounts that don't hold significant SP, this is their most profitable option, and the basis of social interaction on Steemit.

Were VP weighted by reputation, or not weighted, then curation wouldn't be mined for financial gain, and investors in Steem would simply be inuring capital gains from appreciation in the price of Steem.

The price of BTC three years ago was similar to Steem's price today. Recently BTC was $3000. If Steem was just 1% of that amount present investors would see a gain of 20000%. This is only a fraction of Steem's upside potential, as BTC shows - and BTC is just a store of value, not driven by Steemit.

As I've posted elsewhere, Steemit has far higher purposes potential than simply as a way to stay in touch with friends and family, or competing for 'likes'. Should Steemit even approach meeting some of those purposes, the price of Steem will leave BTC in the dust.

This is why it is those who might most profit from Steemit being forked to prevent financial manipulation of curation, whales, that should most oppose that financial manipulation, because that gaming of curation for profit debases Steemit, and threatens those incredible returns.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63