You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-voting user list since HF19

in #statistics7 years ago

When one down-votes, does that use VP? And does that mean that the value of their vote is then subtracted from the post? And does that mean that the value is therefore spread proportionately amongst all the posts according to upvote (so some tiny fraction will actually return to this post)?

Sort:  

From what I've read, it affects your VP % the same way an upvote does?

Makes sense. Down voting also hurts rep, doesn't it? Sometimes there might be a post I think doesn't deserve so much money, but isn't so bad that I'd want to hurt someone's rep.

The reputation system was introduced with the promise of being developed over time. Unfortunately it was left low on the priority list as long as it solved the main issue of spam. Personally, I would like to see upvote/downvote no longer impacting reputation and having it instead based on your followers and how much SP they are collectively backed up by.

With that, I would also like to see this number used to incentivise giving a boost to users with lower reputation.

Interesting. Are you a developer/you run for witness?

No just been here a long time lol.

I shall learn at your knee, old wise one.

That's a good point, and I wish there were a way to separate the two. I usually only flag chronic plagiarism if people insist on spamming my feed with copy pasta...and then, it still has to be pretty obvious to even catch my attention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72