You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-voting user list since HF19 - PART 2 (comments)

I see my name in the list above, but I'm not clear on what it is really saying. Total SBD is 270, SBD on own comments is 135...what does that mean? I upvoted my own comments for 270 or does it mean I upvoted for 135? Also, does this take into account any other people that may have upvoted my comments? I'm not challenging the data, but trying to understand if I did something wrong in that 1 month time frame.

Sort:  

As explained in the description above the tables, Total SBD is the amount of rewards you have put on all posts+comments (self and others).

It does not take into account others that voted on it, it is exclusively what your own vote was worth and what you received as author reward on payout.

Got it...makes sense. In that case, your data is showing that I should be self upvoting much much much more than I did the past 30 days. Tell me if you think I'm way off base here...

I read somewhere that after the last HF, a user can double his/her Steem Power in 100 days if they self-upvote in the most efficient way (I think @JerryBanfield did a post on that). That equates to about 30% return for a 1 month period.

Your data shows I earned 270 SBD, which is about 216 Steem. My account has roughly 12k Steem, so I earned only 1.8% over the 30 days from self upvotes. Feels like I'm not self upvoting enough.

I think your data is useful, but I think it would be helpful to compare self upvote earnings to account Steem power or maybe compare to how much upvotes you do for others vs yourself or some other way so that people with a lot of Steem power are not penalized.

I understand what you're saying, but that's exactly the wrong mindset. Self-voting is selfish behavior that only takes from the platform. The more people that do it, the more likely it is that STEEM is going to be worth much less.

I personally would like to see people to self-vote under 10% of total rewards on average.

There is a time to self-vote, and there is a time not to...

I agree, there should be a community consensus on how much self-voting is acceptable, and how much is too much.

After we reach that ideology, it should be programmed into the system to disallow more than a certain amount.

Not every comment someone makes deserves to be rewarded.

At the same time, I make comments ever now and then that are hugely important to the topic discussed, and I'd like to see them get a few positions above the junk comments so they are more likely to be read.

Well the protocol is designed to let the free market decide how much all content, including comments, is worth. But in reality there are wayyyyyyy too little users and the distribution of SP is wayyyyyyy too bad currently for that to be the case.

Sure, I'm not against reducing it 10% of total. But that alone doesn't solve the problem if people self upvote themselves 10 times at 100% power....while upvoting others 100 times at 1% power. That's why I think we need to look at what SBD a person provides to self vs others.

Also, if you think what I'm doing is selfish...then I should just power down and sell my Steem. Why should I or anyone else buy Steem if I get singled out for 1.8% when someone with low Steem power can get 30% by self-upvoting? And what about all the bots selling their voting power?

Yes i mean 10% SBD max on self of total SBD voted. But i'm personally doing 0% self-voting since 2 weeks.

Having SP gives you:

  1. Over 1% interest per year
  2. 10%+ ROI from curation rewards per year
  3. Power on the network to curate

If someone thinks that insanely high profit is not enough and decided to also add self-votes to that, then that's bad for the platform.

You know what else is bad for the platform? Continuing to take money out of the platform like you are doing. If the top 10 whales did that, Steem price would crash to 5 cents....which would hurt in attracting more people to the platform.

This public shaming when at least half of the people on the list aren't abusing anything is not good for the platform. Some analysis of the data is needed and probably a different approach. If you were trying to pursue those people to start abusing the system or start moving money off Steem, you have probably succeeded.

How am i taking money out of the platform? I completely stopped self-voting which almost nobody is doing yet. It also took me 4 days to create the database that produced this data. It's valuable content, not everyone is a programmer you know.

The disclaimer clearly states that it's just a data dump so it's for you to decide what's abuse and what's not. You are highly overreacting, we're progressing towards a solution. It's a way more difficult problem than you think.

You are withdrawing Steem from the platform.

This is a difficult problem, we can definitely agree on that.

Data dump that is called Top 10 Selfishness?

If your top priority was the steem ecosystem and making things fair wouldnt you want to hold your steem power and give back to everyone by upvoting others? Is taking profits from your post and exiting at every chance good for the system? Just wondering. I dont upvote my comments or think it should be allowed but i do believe that you have found a nerve with alot of people and are using it to make a quick buck as well.

Highly doubtful

Can you elaborate?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43