State Wars - Favorite City of Chicago

in #statewars7 years ago

image.png

Chicago

Since I am from Illinois, it would be a damn shame for me not to do a post during the State Wars about my city of Chicago! There are tons of things to do in the city, and even in the outskirt suburbs of it as well. I was actually just downtown there a month ago before going back down to my university. Given that I am a university student, you can probably assume that I can talk pretty extensively about the night life of the city, but I'll try to say something that everyone can take part in!

Nightclubs like Prysm

image.png
In terms of that exclusive night club scene in Chicago, nothing quite beats the feel of being in Prysm. This is the club that I was just in last month and it was an incredibly fun time. Dress code is pretty strict, but that goes the same for any higher-end night club. I think we were really only able to get in due to one of our friends knowing the club promoter. If you decide to go here, you should really try to drink as much as you can before you head inside...drinks are not cheap here at all! They are even expensive by city standards!

The Bean

image.png
Probably one of the most "touristy" things you could do in Chicago is go to the iconic Bean and take photos against the reflective surface of it. Come to think of it, this place is practically a gold mine for people to take pictures for that reflective photo challenge! The Bean is definitely one of those things that you have to see at least once, the park that it is in is actually not as crowded as you'd think most days. People tend to go, take pictures, and leave pretty promptly. Its been about two years since I've been at the Bean honestly.

The Willis Tower

image.png

Some Chicago natives are probably really mad at me for even calling this building the Willis Tower, since it was known as the "Sears" tower for SO many years. The name has been changed enough years for people to have gotten over it in my opinion lol! Also I work in the insurance industry and sometimes work directly with Willis, so I wouldn't want to accidentally call their tower the wrong name when I'm at work or anything lol. There is a sky deck to see the whole city from the top of the tower so its a pretty cool experience! The top is even all glass so you feel like you're about to fall to the ground! I would not recommend it for people that are scared of heights!

If none of that convinces you that Chicago is one of the best possible cities to visit, then I have failed you all as a motivator and sales person :p.

Photo Credits
Flag - https://fineartamerica.com/featured/chicago-flag-watercolor-mike-maher.html
Club - https://www.discotech.me/chicago/prysm/
Bean - https://www.tripadvisor.com/LocationPhotoDirectLink-g35805-d1134861-i245895480-Cloud_Gate-Chicago_Illinois.html
Tower - http://www.skyscrapercenter.com/building/willis-tower/169

Sort:  

Living two hours away from Chicago I have not been to the top of the Sears Willis tower yet. The first time I went to Chicago with my wife I said man is that the Sears tower it looks just like it and she goes no that's the Willis tower (a few hours laters she explained to me the name change).

The Bean is pretty neat and you're right for it not being as busy as most would think for being a popular tourist attraction in Chicago.

Haven't had a chance to experience any nightlife in Chicago, but maybe one day. Is there any nightlife/clubs in Chicago for "older" people lol.

Hmm none that I know of specifically that has an "older" crowd, but I'd say some of the bars at Wrigleyville would fit in that category while still being an exciting place to be!

Haha when I say older I mean mid 30's so I don't know if that's considered old in the night-life scene. I've never been much on the nightlife, but I know my wife would enjoy going out sometime is the only reason I ask.

Mid 30's is not old at all for that I wouldn't worry! Wrigleyville is still a ton of fun for all ages 21-60 practically! Especially if its during the baseball season.

I wan want to visit the bean! Ha ha!

Its so cool to see!

@snrm - Alright! Another Chicagoan representing in the State Wars!

That's what I like to see!

Is Chicago you mean is the largest city in the state of the United States that was founded on August 12, 1833 my friend @snrm...??

Hmm if you say so, I wasn't sure if it was the largest or not!

yeeachh .. the largeat one is there 😁😁
Thank's you replies my comment friend, sorry i don't smoothly speak in english

I loved Chicago the time I visited there I saw to many bars at the time but not the sights like the bean and the Tower I have to visit there again

Hey I get stuck in the bars a lot too lol.

Lol not anymore for me a boring life these days

And lets not forget Bill Murray.

Can never forget him!

I visited Chicago once, long time ago, and my daughter lived in Chicago for a few years too. It is a fun city and lots of things to do and see!

It definitely is! Thank you for your comment.

humm-.. that´s interesting, good post! https://steemit.com/music/@palmimusic/luz-de-mi-vida-pablo-olivares-cover see my last video please

Great photos! I can never remember Willis...It's always Sears to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46