Florida Manatee - State Wars Day 1: Symbols

in #statewars6 years ago

It is so easy to promote the state you live in, when you truly think it is the best state in the U.S. Florida has so much to offer. Between the sunny days, the ocean waters, clear springs, and cities you never have nothing to do. This past summer I went on a stand up paddle board float in Weeki Wachee and was able to snorkel with Florida's state marine animal, the manatee!

40CD3074324B30E9CFD48CD4E6910107.jpg

This was such an amazing experience, I kept my distance to not startle the gentle giant.

7BE686F3A68B4F18B27FB1A3957713AC.jpg

It was heading to a bed of seagrass to eat some lunch!

09F975C69C93E50C969B301C84B918BD.jpg

As you can see from the photo, the water was rushing through there, I was able to float by with just enough time to grab a photo. Somehow the manatee just float there eating! Florida is the only state you will consistently see manatees. These are an endanger species that we very much respect here and hope that those visiting will do the same.

Also as everyone knows, Florida is the Sunshine State, so I can't not post a photo of the sunshine ;)

20171218_173634.jpg

Thank you for reading this post! If you would like to help save manatees, please check out www.savethemanatee.org

@pinellaslisa

Sort:  

I love manatees..they are my favorite marine mammal!!

Mine too @deerjay
You can adopt one with Save the Manatee Club!
They are just so gentle and cute. They look like potatoes LOL!

Lol, yes I see that now that you say it! I always think of them as "big lovable lugs"!

Aww! Yes they are big lovable lugs too :)

Great pics, Manatees are awesome, the cows of the deep :)

Thank you! I love them :)

That's so neat to be able to see one that close! Very cool!

I had to fight some quick rushing water but defiantly worth it! One of the best days ever, I couldn't stop smiling.

I love our big sea cows here in Florida. I'm in Brevard County at the moment. Love it here, though my time here is almost up. On to bigger things soon!

I haven't spent much time out there yet but would love to explore! Good luck on your things coming up!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PinelllasLisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55