State Wars? I oppose all wars, but enjoy competition and rhyming!

in #statewars7 years ago (edited)

@steemusa has a new activity going on, called #statewars. Now I do not support any fighting, but instead support all rhyming!

I thought I would jump in with a few verses about Wisconsin, the land that raised me.

SugarMapleLeavesGreen.jpg
State Tree: Sugar Maple

The Sugar Maple is a tree
that gives all it has to us freely.
In Spring time you drive into it a tapper
and place a bucket to stop the splatter.
Collecting the sugary juices from
the state tree of Wisconsin.
This can then be reduced with heat
To make the ultimate sug'ry treat.

Reducing maple sugar.jpg
Photo by Frank Weiss

And in these tall stand maple trees
If one sits quietly and waits
a white tailed deer just might appear
if it takes the bait.

Hunt deer with a camera,
hunt them with a bow.
Track them by their footprints
in the freshly fallen snow.

maple trees tappers buckets.jpg
It drips into buckets!


Maple sirp and venison,
Polka and Badgers;
Living in Wisconsin is
better than New Jerse(y).


(No offense to New Jersey, I needed something to rhyme with Badgers!)

Love and Light to All! Let's stay positive #wisconsin in the #statewars! On, Wisconsin!

Sort:  

This is very cool. I'd love to see/read more what's going on with the trees, buckets, and what's over the fire. I'm assuming maple syrup, but other than that I'm clueless. Do you already have a post on this?

Thanks for sharing and participating in statewars! The most peaceful war ever recorded :P

I don't have one yet! Thank for the motivation, spring is coming and will be a perfect time to document the process well.

Awesome, looking forward to learning something new!

I use to do a lot of fishing in Wisconsin it is a wonderful state! Grandparents have old cabin on a lake. So many wonderful memories created their over holidays when I was growing up!

Memories are like magic cryptocurrencies of one's brain. A 'proof of experience' as it were. It sounds like your memorified blockchain is very valuable :)

Hey! Glad to see you participate.. good luck.. isn't this state famous for cheese too?

Totally true! Although there are some other states that claim to have usurped Wisconsin in cheese production, the last I heard Wisconsin is still home to more Master Cheesemakers than any other State in the Union.

that is dope and has some flow to it, sorry new jersey guys , battle lines have been drawn

actually i grew up in NJ. there is no comparison and you have the correct end of it.

Lovely poem! I haven't seen a white tail dear.. 🥂

maple syrup!!! yummy!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46