"The Bostonian"

"The Bostonian"

monacle dogBW.jpg

This dog was a project for an art class I just started. It was actually a little side project - a dog rescue fundraiser.

As I so often do, I procrastinated and left myself two days to create a dog. And one of those days I needed to mat and frame and take to the gallery to be hung. LOL! Panic set in!

Given that I was new to this art experience and had limited time, I decided to go with what I felt comfortable with, graphite. However, I had never drawn an animal before and hadn't done a portrait drawing since I was a child. Ack! My only expectation, other than 'completion', was to hopefully create something that could pass as 'art'. Woof!

Like a deranged artist, I drew through the night and amazingly this little guy popped out! It was like that portrait drawing bug I had as a child was just laying there dormant waiting to be awakened again. It was the wildest and most fascinating experience.

14047260_10210688115627321_2798812747861478419_o.jpg

Not knowing what I was doing, I chose the wrong paper for this project - an oil pastel paper with a lot of teeth. Too late! I just kept going but I realized at the end that this mistake actually lends some antique quality to the drawing which matches the dog's personality.

So, sometimes mistakes can actually be what makes a piece of art unique and special.

Title:(The Bostonian)
Size:(11x14)
Medium:(Graphite/Charcoal)
Duration:(24 hours)
Sort:  

Thanks for using #artzone tag! Artzone can give just one upvote per day!

Okay. Thank you.

Now in the process of selecting finalists, see March Art Madness link below for tips and details:


http://steemit.com/stateofthearts/@stateofthearts/your-votes-begin-here-and-now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63