Why I'm not impressed with The Last Jedi.. (Spoilers)

in #starwars7 years ago

Perhaps my hopes were too high for this movie. I desperately wanted to enjoy this film, but after watching this film twice I rank The Last Jedi as the worst star wars movie to date.
Don't get me wrong visually the movie is amazing, people unfamiliar with the franchise will love it. However, it was as if Rian Johnson made sure the film went against every fan theory. Corny jokes, plot lines that don't make sense, so many missed opportunities which left me feeling unenthusiastic about the next installment.
Here are a few reasons why..
sw-the-last-jedi-tall-B.jpg
The two things that I was ecstatic to finally find out were who Rey's parents were and who Supreme Leader Snoke was. As you can imagine I was unimpressed with the decision to instantly kill of Snoke with no back story, and for Rey's family to be insignificant. Although I do get the message that you do not need important parents to become important, I would've just preferred she had no parents. Boring..
The fight with Kylo-Rey against the Royal Guards was great, but a Kylo-Rey duo vs Snoke could have easily made this a different movie. Instead we got a Snoke insta kill which made absolutely no sense.
a0fedea602f76d6774c9f8cbbf3c8e4e33fbfbcf0a72333d64db87e738aed7600.jpg
The decision to kill off Admiral Ackbar one of Star Wars most beloved characters without a proper goodbye.. huge missed opportunity. The scene where purple hair light speeds into Snoke's ship was amazing. However, that should have been Admiral Ackbar's doing. Instead we got SuperMan Leia and Ackbar meaninglessly floating in space.
knights_of_ren_artwork_by_ashleyclapperton-da9p2cx.jpg
The Knights of Ren, yep we had no sight of them. Hopefully we get something about this group in episode 9, but at this point I doubt it. Another missed opportunity, they could have easily gave some back story in the flashbacks. Instead we get the almighty Luke Skywalker milking a space cow. Nice.
9d7999611423b86bc785aa4b55891640875ff6de.jpg
Captain Phasma, yet another missed opportunity. This character had a lot of hype and just like Snoke died too soon.
As you probably know, the Finn-Rose duo was awful and felt like a waste of time.. The actor who played Rose must have won the lottery to get the role. Hopefully their journey makes more sense in episode 9, I believe the force sensitive boy on the planet they visited will play a large role in the next film. However, their adventure to seek out a Master Coder was completely irrelevant to the story.
star-wars-episode-9-shot-on-65mm-film-210791.jpg
There are many more reasons why I did not enjoy this film, but I'll leave it at that. Hopefully we get an episode 9 that equals the excitement that The Force Awakens gave me. I hated that I disliked this film. Regardless of my opinion the film was still a huge success bringing in over 600 Million Dollars.
What did you think of the film? Let me know in the comments below!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70