I've Never Seen Star Wars

in #starwars7 years ago

IMG_2330.JPG

I know I know, how uncivilized of me.

I've always liked shocking people with the fact that I have never seen any of the Star Wars movies. I of course already knew who is Lukes father, who is R2-D2 and that Princess Leia was the object of every teenage boys day dreams when the movies first came out. But that's pretty much it.

All that is about to change in the next 17(?) hours. I have the day off and the weather outside is gloomy, so I think this is the perfect day to bite the bullet regarding Star Wars. I have to watch them in the order they were made, right?

I'm armed with snacks, food, coffee and a knitting project so I can sit still for all day. And I'll check in on Steemit from time to time, being obsessed and all.

Sort:  

Few people in the West read the Bible any longer. Nearly everyone is familiar with the Star Wars saga. Star Wars does heavily borrow from the New Testament, however, but it does shake up the plot elements a little bit.

"A little bit" 😂 I've read quite a bit of the bible when I was little, some good stories in there.

Anakin Skywalker is a glaringly obvious Christ figure. A child prodigy who astonishes the wise men of the temple and who is dubbed the Chosen One who is the savior who is prophesied to "bring balance to the Force". Only that prophesy will play out very much contrary to the expectations of the wise men. Anakin will follow the Devil instead. He will redeem himself by following the example of his son who will rather die than give into temptation. This stuff borrows heavily from Christianity but leaves room for interpretation which is exactly how good mythology works.

You are in for the time of your life! Enjoy! We do a Star Wars weekend every now and again. Enough snacks, coffee, and me with a crochet project. No interruptions, not even steemit...okay, steemit may be your only interruption...

Sounds good, you get a lot of crocheting done while binge watching all the movies 😛

the 1970s versions ? If you also have time, or haven't seen it. check out bladerunner :)

Yes, and so far, I'm pleasantly surprised.

Let me get though these classics first 😁

Will leave you too it.. enjoy :)

Have fun and let us know if you like it or not :)

I'm at the halfway of the second movie, so far pleasantly surprised 😊

Didn't watching StarWars is like didn't watching Game of Thrones. Even worse maybe :D But, thank's God, it's good that you finally made time for this amazing movie! ;) I wish you a nice time :)

GoT is the best! No way this is going to beat that one. But I will enjoy this 😁

Me neither, I also enjoy shocking people with this fact!

I'm sorry to leave you!

I haven't watched them either but I promise I'll do it some day! Enjoy your marathon! 😄

That is very productive day... steemit plus knitting. While the coffee is a real booster.

That is my idea of being productive 😛

If you want to know what Star Wars is really about please watch my film. The "force" is very real, and is actually called "The Ether" by Nikola Tesla, please watch and let me know what you think after having seen the films:

Let me watch the real movies first, so I can get all the references 😅

I'd start with "A New Hope" and go from there. The prequels were utter shit, in my opinion.

There should be a law that film makers can't revisit a series after 10 years, preserving the originals. Lucas did a lot of damage by readjusting and adding superfluous crap to his older films.

I wrote a post partly in response and partly tangential to your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64182.74
ETH 2768.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66