Mandalorian - Gauntlet Work In ProgresssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #starwars7 years ago

Hey all. It's been a while, but in the meantime, I have managed to get a little more work done on my Mandalorian kit.

The gauntlets are known as one of the two areas that are a major pain in the butt, but I have been been trying my best to make my own rather than fork out cash to have someone make them for me. This way, I can customize them a little better to my liking.


Source: Wookieepedia

Boba Fett, the most recognizable bounty hunter in Star Wars canon, has a rocket and flamethrower on his gauntlets. For my own, I wanted to include a keypad and a display screen on my gauntlets. The first thing I would need is a keypad.

Problem solved.
With my handy dandy dremel, I carved out the small section of keys. I traced the area onto the right arm gauntlet top box, and cut that space out with my dremel.

Using my wife's hot glue gun (it works much better than my own does), I positioned the keypad into the gauntlet box, and hot glued it into place.


To ensure the keys make the "clicky clicky" effect and sound of a working keyboard, I placed the rubber plungers into the bottom of the keys, and glued on a layer of the plastic to give them soemthing to "click" against.

For the left arm box, I will be using an old iPhone 4S that I had laying around. I cut out the screen area into the gauntlet box, and will be adding some padding to hold it into place. (I will probably want to be able to remove the phone to recharge it)

When completed, I will have a video loaded onto the phone that will play in a loop. It will have some random information and displays of bounty targets, ship schematics and such. When I finish the video project, I'll share it with you all.

More updates as I make more progress! Until next time!


Steem-Punk-HORIZONTAL-SIGNATURE.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome post. Looking forward to the end.

You and I both :lol:

i'll keep in touch to see it man. Cheers

These are going to look amazing then you are done, I love the idea of the old iPhone being the screen in a gauntlet! Maybe you should have the charger cable always plugged into the iPhone and have the cable and usb plug in as some sort of addition to the gauntlet?

I was thinking about that, but it's a bit of a tight fit inside the box, and iPhone cords are notorious for being of cheap construction, breaking and fraying easily. Because it's an older model, more resilient cords of that style are harder to find.

That said, I was considering running the power cord along the inside of the upper clamshell of the gauntlet. It's something I am still pondering. ;)

This is so awesome!!

I want one made of adamantium

Beskar for the win, vod!

you want to make money ??, take a look at my latest post :) cheers

Pretty sure I am making money. Thanks ;)

I do not like when people ask for upvotes, reblogs or follows. and certainly not when they make reference to earning money by reading their post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63745.68
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86