"Stefan Draschan” Starpics Photographer Interview

in #starpics6 years ago (edited)



Can you tell us about yourself briefly?


I never had the intention to become an artist, but it happened. I did a lot of different things before, i was a journalist, a DJ, a café/bar-owner, a teacher...
Beside art, i'm still an activist for cycling and sustainability. (f.e. see my bicycle culture series). I'm no friend of world destruction nor oppressing people.





Can you tell us about what you are currently working on?


I'm always photographing as i love beautiful photographs. I don't see it as work and it is not exhausting for me, quite the opposite.





What made you decide to be a professional photographer?


Pure chance. I quit smoking and my brother made me a camera as present in 2013. It was a perfect combination for me.





What’s your photographic style?


I'm a pure street photographer, also in the museums.



How do you educate yourself to take better pictures?


I have someone i can ask if i have problems (and it was very important the first years now as i'm not technically talented)





What kind of gear do you use?


I have a digital reflex camera.i also try to improve my photographic equipment, i know now, which camera f.e. is best in museums...



When do you feel happy as a photographer?


Each beautiful or interesting photograph i take in all fields of photography makes me happy. Simple as that.





When was the most difficult time as a photographer? How did you deal with it?


When i had no money for a digital reflex camera which makes it easier to print fine art in a larger format.



What was your most memorable experience in this photography field?


Many of the lucky coincidences of people matching artworks, couples matching or cars matching homes.





Where do you see yourself in five years’ time? Or What photographic ambitions would you like to achieve?


5 years ago i was no photographer at all. I finished by then another journalistic academy to become a print journalist. As a street photographer, who is dependent on coincidences, i just want to be ready. Always.





What would you say to people who would like to be professional photographers?


Just go on the street or anywhere and take photographs, even with your smartphone. Simply do it, just start.





Do you own a website or social media account to share your artistic works? Would you like to tell us?

Yes, on my homepage www.stefandraschan.com, Instagram, tumblr, facebook

Sort:  

Congratulations @eddward! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @eddward! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57666.58
ETH 3076.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28