“Melika Dez” Starpics Photographer Interview

in #starpics6 years ago (edited)





Can you tell us about yourself briefly?



I am a former professional dancer and I’ve been working as a photographer for almost 10 years now. I specialize in ballet and movement photography but, I also shoot a lot of portraits and fashion. I am a Montreal-based photographer but I travel a lot for my shoots, NYC, Paris, Rome, etc.











Can you tell us about what you are currently working on?



I am always woking on a bunch of things! Recently, I just finished wrapping up the cover of a French magazine called Paris Worldwide, distributed in the Paris Charles-de-Gaule and Orly airports, that will be published in January 2018. Also, I am preparing my next trip to Paris and also and few other destinations. Finally, I am getting ready for a few upcoming exhibits.
In the immediate future, I am producing a photoshoot with some dancers from the Montreal ballet company Les Grands Ballets Canadiens in collaboration with Boutique 1861. I will be shooting some vintage and very soft images in a beautiful loft.











What made you decide to be a professional photographer?



I’ll have to go with the cheesy answer to this question and say, I think photography chose me. I was supposed to go to cinema school BUT, a former colleague, stole my movie project, applied at the same time as I did in the same faculty and program and she got in instead of me. I was desperately trying to get in the Cinema faculty and the advisors recommended I went back to school and went through a Photography program since more than half their accepted students came from that path. So, I took their advice and started studying photography and completed a three-year professional program. After completing my first year, I knew that awful episode had happened for a reason, I had to find photography. I didn’t fall in love with this practice right away but I sure learned to love it and that’s what built a strong tie to this beautiful art. After graduating, I was sure that I wanted to be a photographer.











What’s your photographic style?



I’ll try to describe my «style» the best way I can…. My images are «location» oriented, that’s what really defines my genre. I study my lighting and my photo set ups before any shoot. There’s a lot of precision that goes through my location scouting. In terms of aesthetics, I usually go for more of a «vintage» feel.











How do you educate yourself to take better pictures?



I spend hours and hours in Instagram, I constantly look up other work and photographers to see what’s happening around the world. I will sometimes watch some video tutorials but not very often. In all honesty, I try to put myself in situations that make me «uncomfortable» and I try to shoot differently, in ways that I wouldn’t normally do and that’s REALLY how I keep my photo style evolving and moving and therefore take better pictures every time I shoot.











What kind of gear do you use?



I shoot with a Canon 5D Mark IV and I constantly use the same 3 lenses, 70-200 USM II stabilized, and the 50mm and 85mm Sigma Art series lenses. 90% of my work is shot in daylight but when shooting in studio or outdoors and I use strobes, I usually shoot with some Profoto gear.






When do you feel happy as a photographer?



I feel the most happy when shooting a dancer in the middle of the street, in a beautiful city, somewhere around the world!











When was the most difficult time as a photographer? How did you deal with it?



Difficult times come around constantly and the best way for me to keep my spirits high and my career moving is by creating photoshoots and working on some personal projects. That way I keep my art alive.











What was your most memorable experience in this photography field?



My most memorable experience was by far when I shot the men of Ailey in Paris (see attached photo). We were almost done with our shoot but, creative director Michael Jackson Jr and I felt like we were still missing some photos, it was a very hot day and the dancers were exhausted. At that moment. Michael decided to have the men lay down on the floor and as he was organizing the shot, more and more people were coming up to me asking if the dancers were with the Alvin Ailey company. By the time the men were finally ready to shoot, I had a big crowd behind me, standing there in silence and watching the beautiful scene happen before their eyes. That silence was so deep, you could feel the people in the crowd holding their breath. When I called out «it’s a wrap» people started applauding. That moment was so special, it was so intense yet so simple, it will forever stay in my heart.











Where do you see yourself in five years’ time? Or What photographic ambitions would you like to achieve?



In the next 5 years I would like to have had a book about my dance photography published, have had my photos in some international exhibits and also, be able to work with some of the world’s most prestigious dance companies.






What would you say to people who would like to be professional photographers?



Be patient, be humble and work hard.






Do you own a website or social media account to share your artistic works? Would you like to tell us?



My website is www.melikadez.com and my Instagram account is @Melika.dez

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61634.81
ETH 2971.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49