You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Star Trek: Discovery. Season 1. Thoughts and spoilers.

in #star7 years ago

As a trekkie of many years, I hate STD (Star Trek Discovery). It's a bastardized version of what Gene Roddenberry envisioned as a futuristic technological utopia. But that's hardly the main problem with the show.

The Klingons are a parody of themselves, the casting could be better and some of the themes were dealt with badly. Not to mention the gaping fucking plot holes that made me give up around the holiday break in its release schedule. I disagree with you wholeheartedly. Discovery could have been a lot more than it is.

That said, I am glad the Trek franchise is holding its own in the crowded category of televised scifi today. Something is better than nothing.

P.S. Tilly is indeed adorable.

Sort:  

But... it ISN'T. That's the point. As a season, it's exactly ABOUT that. Also with regards to the Klingons .Also the casting is perfect and everyone on the show is perfect. PERFECT, I TELL YOU. I HAVE FEELS.

Burnham should have been played by Samira Wiley. Anyone else is just... doing it wrong. In my head it's Samira or I wouldn't be able to watch it at all.

Sonequa Martin-Green is PERFECT.

Exactly. Much like these two actors were perfectly cast in their roles in the MCU, so was Sonequa.

You - are wrong. I - am right. We - need those microphones so we can have this argument on our podcast.

Yes, yes. We'll make it happen. I'll make it happen on my end soonish. I'm feeling some economic anxiety, as we just signed the rent agreement for our next place and it is significantly more expensive.

I know what you're gonna say. "The podcast will MAKE money," and you're right. But anxiety gonna anxiety.

Would it help if I sent you some SBD?

I love the kilngons talking like they have a lisp, cause their costume includes some bullshit dental fixtures that are impossible to talk with.

I fucking hate it because that's not how Klingon is meant to sound. It's a BATTLE language. It's meant to be short and fast commands. Not slow attempts to be heard over dental thingies.

Ars Yous Shure? I kinda likes its.

Okay, even I, one of the biggest Discovery stans out there, hated how the Klingons sounded. And also how much we got to hear them sound that way.

yup, its sci-fi, its "star trek", its decently made - it's something.
It's not like we got an abundance of good quality sci-fi shows today, beggars can't be choosers, i'll take all the sci-fi i can get.

There are other sci fi shows out there. If you havn't seen Incorporated I can highly recommend it. Also Humans, West World and most recently Altered Carbon.

Yes, i should have added "space themed" to my comment regarding sci-fi, that's the genre i am personally like most, and except "the expanse" which is think is probably one of the best shows outside the big franchises in that theme , there haven't really been any shows of that level recently. Although discovery is not on the same level, it is decent.

From your list there west world was the only one that caught me and i am patiently waiting for season 2 :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36