Why we should never apologize for our Art.

in #standout7 years ago

Art. In this small word, thousands of meanings, desires and passions are wrapped in. Throughout time, art (Music, Photos, Acting, Painting, Filmmaking, etc). Art reveals truth from the artist that portrays it; it is a way for a fictional reality to contradict our closed minds.

It is for this reason why I took up photography.

Over the last few months, I have had the privilege of creating my own art and previewing many other talented photographers pictures. Being in photography has really pushed me to think about the world we live in, and where I, as an artist, fit in. Photography has made me think about myself and how I can truly express myself through it.

This last week, I embarked on “Desire”; I was instructed in class to take photos of desire, in whatever way we saw fit. After at least three days of racking my brain, I shot a series of photos that I really identified with. It took several hours to piece together, editing and trying new things. At last, I found the selection of photos I felt worthy to submit. dscn45191.jpg
manwithhat.jpgdscn45251.jpg**

Right off the bat, you notice a theme right?

Cuffs

Cuffs, to be, are a symble of bondange, and the fact that they are dangling from my hands show that I have decided to break free from those cuffs of the world.

Those are just some of the photos I decided to post online/ in class. Online, many people told me they were really good, showing myself that I had a future in photography-professionally or self given I’m not sure.

One photo, however, I kept to myself.

This photo, which I will share in this blog, caused me to toss and turn for days, wondering if I should post this certain picture. On the one hand, I knew it was great-the lighting, the style, the mood-it just fit. On the other hand, however, I knew it would cause great controversy among many friends. I posted it online for at least three hours and got little response via online-one dear friend texted me and confronted me.

This is the photo:
handcuffs.jpg

Right off the bat, I am sure that you noticed the “Finger” being portrayed. Internationally, the finger is known as a “F-U” to anyone seeing it. I know personally that many people are uncomfortable with the finger being viewed in photos/ life. It is insulting, degrading, and slam.

In this context, I see it as a calling.

First, let us read the wise words of a true artist- Picasso.

“We all know that Art is not truth. Art is a lie that makes us realize truth at least the truth that is given us to understand. The artist must know the manner whereby to convince others of the truthfulness of his lies.”-Picasso.

Art, in its most humble form, is an expression of a longing to find freedom and individuality in a world molded to conformity and isolation. Artists are given the power to break common perceptions of individuals-mostly our own. This is why I took that photo the way I-I, in this photo, have decided to never apology for my art.

Today, the world has become too sensitive- we cannot step outside, or even open our mouth, without someone feeling offended. We have grown soft, being careful to try and please everyone.

Art, however, was never meant to be safe.

For thousands of years, Art has been a way for true expression- Art is for people regardless of faith, policy, right or wrong, to show the truth-to show THEIR TRUTH.
Everyone, within themselves, have a truth needed to be shown to the world. The truth is not always safe, not always correct-but it comes from a deep dwelling of the mind to be unique. This is why art is essential to the world-it expresses truth from our own mind.

You may be wondering, “Why the finger? What I am saying?” I am saying this: I don’t want to be just another artist that plays it safe with their art, that doesn’t try, that plays it politically correct, or Religiously correct. In my life, I may do things that the world will not understand, that will not get. If I offend you, please know I don’t mean it on purpose-but don’t expect an apology from me. I was born not to apology, but to shine.

I hope you have enjoyed this blog post. If any artists are reading this who are afraid of going all out-let me offer you some hope.

Don’t stop creating, never settle for safe-be who you were meant to be. Not everyone will understand you, but they cannot define you.

Carry on my friends.

You are born to shine.

So, never forget, you as an artist have the privilage to shine and bring people to the brink of thought and anger, but at the same time bring wonder and question.

Sort:  

You are right, that the lighting in this photo is spot on. Even though I'm a pretty PG Disney sing along kind of person, I wouldn't take offense to the picture. My interpretation is that you are not flipping me, the viewer, off, but flipping the camera off. It's just a cool picture!

Thanks! I totally felt ashamed to post this due to the overwhelming negativity that seems to come with anything artistic. But I've started to look past that and find the core interpretation!

Photography and illustration have some similarities. My advantage, though, is that I can also create art to share how I feel about the world, even if it doesn't match what I see in the world. But what I am still learning how to do, however, is convey strong emotion and theme, something you are doing well with your shots! Keep going strong!

Congratulations @jbenda1993! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

shame people are so blinded by self restraints that they don't allow themself to see the message in this photo and art in general. I see it as an f-u to societal restraints that tell us how to behave, create, act, and react. wonderfully done will def be following and watching for your work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64