HELP! I NEED A HACKER!

in #stalking7 years ago (edited)

So....I was hacked. And what I mean by that is, I was cyber harassed and stalked. And what I mean by that is, someone got into my network at home and

  1. wormed a key logger onto my computer
  2. got into my email accounts and Facebook (not that I use it) and wrote threatening emails and posts that were extremely damaging to me and my husband
  3. got access to my phone and started listening to my conversations and making phone calls and text messages from it
  4. started sending emails to my husband telling him what I was wearing or doing that day, telling my husband I was on my way to a boyfriends' house (which was obviously not true), or telling my husband I was leaving him and taking the kids, (which was also not true).

We think it is an EX. I spoke to the police and FBI about it (since my husband is Canadian), and both of them said it sounded like a lot of Ex boyfriend stalker-type cases they see, and that it appeared they may have hired someone to do a fairly sophisticated job, since it was mostly done from INSIDE the network. Sophisticated or not, it left us with the feeling that we were being watched and monitored ALL the time. Because we WERE!

The worst part is, the police can't do much because it's not escalated to the point of threatening life or stealing money. The FBI could help, but their resources are allocated to solving high profile cases. And as upsetting as my story is, it is not high profile crime.


DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO DO COUNTER-HACKING OR NETWORK SURVEILLANCE?

Please respond below with your experience and expertise, and maybe we can talk about hiring you.

My husband and I unplugged all of our devices, shut down the network, wiped all our devices clean, reset all our passwords, set up better antivirus, and opened a new network. I was not on my computer or tablet for days. It took a couple weeks to get everything squared away since we both work, and we had to do it in the evenings. We have several devices between phones, tablets, TV, computers, and Google Home.

All the while, we were planning Christmas activities with the kids, and trying to be normal and have a happy Christmas.

And I guess having this happen around Christmas was bitter sweet. On the one hand, it gave us a reason to be happy and share good moments as a family and not dwell on the issue. On the other, it was Christmas! And we felt it was being commandeered by a psychopath.

Just before Christmas, we had police at our house in the middle of the night banging on the door and shouting to let them in. Apparently someone had made an anonymous tip to police that I was being beat up by my husband and I was hiding in the closet (which obviously was not true). My husband and I were sound asleep. It was like 2 in the morning, and having four police banging on the door, demanding to come in the house, then coming at you in the middle of the night with loud and strange questions, was extremely disorienting and overwhelming. The police figured out pretty quickly it was a false call.

And this happened TWICE! A few weeks apart.

Things finally calmed down after we got everything cleaned up and locked down, and we started to feel kind of normal and safe again.

And then it started up again!


There was one device we had missed! So we had to do the whole process ALL. OVER. AGAIN. It was a nightmare. This was about the time I lost access to my Steemit account--I was so distraught, after everything and now this! (When I got my account back, I wrote a love letter to Steemit because I was so thrilled.)

So, there are so many more pieces to the story, but suffice it to say, it has been awful. I think it's safe to say we're locked down now and starting to feel better. But I can never be sure....I would really like to solve the mystery stalker and put a stop to it once and for all. This kind of stuff has happened ever since my husband and I got engaged 4 1/2 years ago. It's just escalated to a new level.

I think I know who is doing this, but I can't prove it.


DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO DO COUNTER-HACKING OR SOPHISTICATED NETWORK FORENSICS?


Please respond below with your experience and expertise, and maybe we can talk about hiring you.

Sort:  

Free vote for you! Yay!

Sounds like a bad movie script. Geez....how scary can this be? I wish I knew how to help you out. I just wanted to reply so you knew someone was listening or to give you an empathetic ear.

I'd be interested to know the answer as well. I'm resteeming with the hope someone can help you out.

You know what I am also thinking - is you change your tags to steemit community to get better coverage or even go to steemit chat and ask for help in there....we have to know someone - who knows someone. Gotta....

Eeeesh! Sorry you guys are going through that bs.

It sucks. But we keep on. Steemit is kind of a refuge right now.

sorry to hear about this harassment - I think we need better laws covering cyber stalking - this is a major crime in my opinion - someone is attacking your family privacy as well as causing grave anxiety - I'm disappointed by the police response. They think if there's no blood on the floor, it's not that major. So short-sighted.

The laws are actually pretty good now. If I was able to catch this guy, it would be pretty serious. It is a major crime. It's just too bad the resources are not available to people like me. But I'll find a way.....

I hope you find someone who can help - in the meantime, a few outdoor cameras and motion lights will deter intruders both day and night - It's not too great an expense for the peace of mind they provide.

Yikes! Sorry to hear about this.
John McAfee has been talking about a device his company have made- "Sentinel" for what you need. He's made it but I don't think it's been released yet unfortunately :(
Good luck!

Wow. That sounds great. I'll have to check it out. I'm sure it will come in handy in the future!

Oh my goodness, I can't believe that! What a horrible thing to have to deal with and on top of it, during a holiday. I wish I knew enough to help! I was speaking with a colleague in my office who handles all of our IT. He said the best way is to wipe all devices and start clean, which you already did. Hopefully the second wipe will prevent any further annoyances.

I think I have a plan.....I'll let you all know how it goes.

Did the hacker have access to your Steemit account? Because if so, even if you recovered it, you can claim it as theft of property. The US Government considers Crypto Property until it is sold (when it then becomes like a security [i.e. stocks] ... silly government ...).

Regardless of the fact that you recovered your stolen property, they still stole $xx of property. Considering your account is worth a decent bit, that would be considered Grand Larceny if I'm not mistaken?

Food for thought in case you are running out of options...

Hadn't thought of that.....I'll add it to the list. Although, I'm not sure they got the account or not. It's a bit of a grey area. I just know I couldn't get into it because something wonky went on.

I know a hacker that helped my neighbour and my friends because I introduced them to him, and he is clean his contact info: parachutelift at gmail dot com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50