We wish you a lot of staff #1

in #staff8 years ago

Business as usual it seems; “Hey, Mr. S., can I have a cup of coffee with you?” A cup of coffee with the staff is as regular as my customers buy locally brewed beer with a special ingredient. Off I go into a meeting box together Mr. N. “Dear Mr. S, I am sorry, but I have found another challenge and I, therefore, denounce my contract. I would like to start my 1-month notice.”

Mr. N. is the bike repairman of the place and also works as a bartender. Mr N has worked 6 years for me and has not always been the sunniest of all. However, his honesty in a big team is something quite rare and for me a brick wall to lean on, as the gossip often thrives in these parts of the world. Besides the honesty that is so necessary to run a business, the stubbornness is something I won’t miss. Always replying a request with ‘yes, but...’ can be very tiring and demotivating for his colleagues. Strangely enough it does increase the quality of the coffee and of the work ethics of new colleagues that he will work with. Let’s hope he did not teach how the break the cups and glasses. Mr. N holds the company record of breaking the porcelain when cleaning the tables. The stubbornness then goes: “yes, but nobody fills his tray as efficient as I do.”

Gladly, Mr. N won’t leave completely. On Wednesday’s he remains the bike repairman for the rentals. The rest of the week he will continue to chase his dream in becoming the best bike repairman of the city, working for the colored bike company. It sometimes comes in very handy to have such rare and precious craftsmen around you.

Of course I have to find replacement for the day shifts he is now leaving behind. Let’s hope honesty remains and stubbornness and Greek weddings do not.

Unfortunately, the Jewish expression of ‘wishing you a lot of staff’, is not a wish you really want to receive. The business I chose however needs the human capital more than any other business.

Somehow it does not get easier until now. The story of human capital of the business is so important that every time someone leaves or comes it feels like an earthquake. Some bricks are crucial and some are so porous they drain al the other ones. The managing of these bricks is the thing I do.

Why are the crucial bricks leaving? Is it the company?
The porous bricks, where do they come from and why they chose me?
How can I put new bricks on the wall as soon as possible, so there are no holes in the wall?
Is it only money and career that I have to offer?

Questions I hope to answer and share with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44