The power of giving

in #stacking6 years ago

20180413_092854.jpg

I don't win things. In fact, I think the last time I won something was way back when I was in high school. It was a comic book, Ninjak #1 gold edition, from sending something in a collectable magazine. I remember it clearly. I think it was worth $50 when it arrived in the mail, but within months it was down to $10 or something and no idea what it's worth now...the price of paper? So exciting...and very memorable.

When I got on Steemit 4 months ago, I ran into a bunch of stackers.

The randomness of things here can often work in your favor... And if you don't know what stacking is...Google it. Because if you're into crypto you're likely to want to get into this. I mean, who wouldn't want pretty sparkling precious metals? Basically it's collecting valuable metals and 'stacking' them. I've been on the fringes of that for a while. Watching a lot of the raffles that are going on, wondering when would be a good time to jump in. I've had the SBD/Steem for a while, but never really felt moved.

Then I ran across a post by @bmj. It was a cold rainy morning here in LA and I was having a truly shitty day.

But, from the tone of the post theirs was just as bad. Someone needed a new dishwasher (or washing machine?) and they were raffling off some of their silver pieces to try and raise funds. Pieces that were dear to them. Like a lot of people here on Steemit, they weren't exactly rolling in dough but they knew that if they reached out here, someone would answer. Because Steem is that kind of place.

20180413_092429.jpg

Something clicked inside of me.

I wanted to help. I mean, there was a slightly selfish motive to win the silver, but I said, 'fuck it. here's someone I can help. even if it's just a little bit.' I sent some Steem and had my entries. My hopes for winning were low knowing my luck, but I felt I'd done my good deed and moved on hoping they'd raise the cash for what they needed. I didn't think of it again until a couple weeks later.

Now, y'all already know the punchline of this story from the opening image. I won. But, the timing of the win and what @bmj did is what I want to bring up.

It was another shitty day.

Well, it shouldn't have been, but it was. My parents had just gotten into town to visit, we were at my home base coffee shop with them meeting my crew of friends, and it was a beautiful day. But, in a 15 minute period of time my main gig I had planned for April fell through. $1000 of work, just, gone, and nothing I could do about it. Then, a message from a model I had worked with way back suddenly pissed about something they really had no right to be pissed about. Fashion industry bullshit with people who have no idea what they're talking about...not going to go into details because it was ridiculous but it was hella drama. So, my legs basically got kicked out from underneath me. Not a good moment.

20180413_092448.jpg

Then I decided to check Discord and see if @ginabot had any updates for me. Not sure why, but I did. Habit, likely. And there was a message, 'You Won!'

I chuckled. I laughed. I think there was also a tear.

I mean, there wasn't much else I could do at that point. In the face of bullshit, I guess that's the best course of action. Laughing at the gods and their attempts to bring me down. Now I'm not saying that my winning was any sort of karmic balancing, but, it's nice to think something like that. Give to help, and get a 'thank you' from the universe...it's a good philosophy even if it isn't true.

So, fast forward several weeks. I mean, it takes time for letters to traverse the world. I had no idea that my package was going to come all the way from Australia so it was really cool when the mail carrier handed it over and asked if I knew someone there. Which, now I do! :)

20180413_092621.jpg

When I opened the package I was already pretty dang excited.

I mean, it was my first piece of silver in my collection, and I had won it helping someone...and it was a DRAGON! So, when I read the note @bmj sent with it my jaw dropped a bit further. This awesome person had decided to send an extra piece...so that the dragon wouldn't feel lonely in transit. How cool is that? Completely unexpected...and super awesome. For more than the reasons of now having 2 pieces of silver.

That day was also pretty bad. Yes, I have a lot of bad days. Depression sucks and my faith in humanity had been shaken pretty hard over the past several weeks. I'd had 3 interviews, three smiling handshakes telling me I was hired, and three people shortly thereafter ghost me. So, no work. No money. Not good for the mood. Or, anything really. The morning this letter arrived was particularly low.

But, there I was looking at a physical manifestation of kindness.

I couldn't deny that there are good people out there. I wouldn't say that my faith in humanity was restored as I've had another hire/ghost situation in the last week, but some of the pillars had been rebuilt. I showed kindness by giving, they showed kindness by giving, and suddenly, 2 peoples lives are better. Even if it's only a small bit. It's something. Did they have to send a second piece? Not at all. They just wanted to be nice.

20180413_092606.jpg

That's the point that I want to drive at, if it's not clear yet.

The power of giving. Stepping outside our daily routine of 'me' and doing something for someone else. Whether it's money, time, advice, whatever, the results can be bigger and more powerful than you ever imagined. I mean, I doubt @bmj ever thought they'd have a big of an effect on my life as they did, but, boom, it happened. Excited for 2 pieces instead of one, definitely. Amazed that people can be kind for no real reason...wow. All I had to do was be willing to help someone, give a little.

So, thanks @bmj! I love these silver pieces and the story you helped me build about the start to my stack...epic.

Hope y'all enjoyed this story of giving and kindness. There's more good out there than you think there is. A fact that's good to be reminded of every once in a while. :)

Michael

)


Sort:  

Dude! You scored some great hauls, buy more importantly, it change your chemistry and the store you're telling yourself. That's awesome man!

Yeah, reality has been giving me too many examples of how my life isn't as bad as I think it is. Rather, as bad as my depression says it is. Friends, a social life, people reacting/engaging with my works...still broke AF...but crossing my fingers that the healing process is slowly beginning. I refuse to pay attention to just the bad anymore. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mikesthoughts from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I'm so glad the package arrived safe and sound, and brought you a bit of joy at the right time. I think you winning was meant to be, and they've found a good home.

Take care buddy!😀

You too! :) Glad fate brought us together for a random moment like this, hehe.

H O L Y S H I T A K I
I have to see those things in person.
I may have a new addiction. If I do, it's your damn fault!

Lol, it's a good addiction to have :) Pays off in the end.

Congratulations - fantastic photos of your winnings it looks lovely and shiny. Well deserved as well, maybe this is the start of your luck changing.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

We can only hope, hehe.

Sorry things are a little rough right now with work. I’ve been in my own business for years, there are times that you wonder how you’ll make it through. Just keep pushing through your chance will come. Nice silver👍

Things have been tough for close to 8 years now with no let up in the bad. It's less about making it through onto a better side than just surviving, hehe. We shall see how things progress. Thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44