FOCUS

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

image

At some point in life, we would encounter a whole lot of things and people, which is actually good and it can be a bad thing too depending on the things and people, but then it depends mostly on you. I am sure you know this, but if you didn't or don't... there you have it. You see, things will happen to you, good and bad things just as you will encounter good and bad people. Right now, I am a young upcoming broadcaster, or better still, an upcoming OAP (On-air personality) as it is called these days. I am more of an entertainer, but then I have to cast the news twice one day in a week. As much as I try to blend in, rehearse like there is no tomorrow, I still get criticized by the owner of the radio station I work at presently, now this affected me so much because I always want to be seen and known as a go-getter, someone who sets her mind to do something and does it excellently. It affected me so much that after a phone call from the boss, the next time I had to cast the news, for the first time in like forever, I was nervous to talk 'on-air', I was so nervous it affected my newscasting and eventually, everything blew up in my face.
I felt like punching or kicking myself in the gut like.. 'WHAT THE HELL JUST HAPPENED!!!' Then it dawned on me that I allowed myself be swayed by the comment of my boss, he said I have 'speech defect' and P.S :- I don't stammer or stutter, nor do I lisp when I talk. I am Yoruba, and we Yoruba's tend to have the 'H' factor, but as a professional OAP, we fight it, hoping we kill the thing at a point. I gotta say this, it has been a 'never- Hending' fight if you dig 😉. So I got the clip of the news I casted that had the boss criticizing me and gave it to the station's head of News department. She told me there was nothing wrong with the newscasting and then she asked me who criticized it, I told her the CEO and she just smiled and told me 'He probably wants you to do better'. And here I was, shattered literally and at that point, my boyfriend and I were having an issue, so it was not a fun experience for me at that time.
What is the message of my long sermon you may ask. You see at some point, people are going to have opinionsssssssssssssss about you, it might not even be work related, it might even be from someone you value his/her opinion/view the most. It is now left to you ultimately to either allow it get to you or FOCUS more on you. Get better, grow, express yourself, feel free to make mistakes, you are not a darn robot!! But always learn from your mistakes, and use the knowledge to keep growing.
Thank you for reading,
XOXO @tori93 💟💜❤

Sort:  

This is highly motivational. Focus sees us through the hard times. It makes our eyes fixed on the trophy without minding the distractions and obstructions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60647.08
ETH 3349.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47