MY NYSC EXPERIENCE - EPISODE 2

in #stach7 years ago (edited)

This post is a continuation of the Episode 1 of MY NYSC EXPERIENCE.
For the first part of the story Click here.

image

With my heart beating so fast that I feared it would pop out, I quickly ended the call on him, before he could say another word, as I rush to locate the chrome browser on my phone. Now, Kelechi being the first friend I met when I stepped into the Faculty of Law has been more of a brother than a friend for like half a decade now and has sacrificed so much for me like we shared the same womb, why he does most things for me, I don't know but I like them.. 😉. My friendship story with Kelechi will be a story for another day.

Now back to my Story:

While hurryingly typing in my login details into the Nysc website that had taken like forever to load due to the poor network reception, I usually get in my room atimes. This morning just happen to be one of those times.
As I clicked on the log in button to display my state of posting, with my heart still pounding like the piston of an old Mac truck, I believe Someone in the next room could hear the rythm of my heartbeat. I waited patiently, for the page to load, out of the silence one could hear a loud hiss from me, the network wasn't connecting.
I had to immediately, jump off my bed and rush outside where I could be sure of good reception, before I would have a heart attack.

On reaching outside, I knew it would now connect as the network reception is usually perfect at this particular spot. However, I canceled the connection half way as I had gotten too scared to now check for what brought me outside. To queal my tension I decided to check Kelechi's own first, I inserted his details and clicked the page loaded and it came out.. Wow.. He had been given his state of preference Lagos!!..

That gave me hope, that I too would be given my place of preference Abuja!! Or worst case scenerio any of the other three states (Lagos, Rivers and Enugu) that I had choosed. I summoned up courage and logged in.. Hmmm..staring at my screen, 0.69 seconds of loading seemed like an hour for me..finally the page was gradually displaying..

Jesu!!! I exclaimed as I reloaded the page again, with the hope that what I saw or I thought I saw would change itself..hmmm..your guess is as good as mine the same result stared me at the face.
Gombe!!!

Hmmm.. So Nysc could do this to me, I thought to myself. Of all my states of choice, so I could be given a place that's not only outside my preferences but also outside my region of expectation.

Hmm... North east.. Here I come.. having being born in the West(Lagos), brought up in the South(Uyo) and schooled in the East(Enugu) I believe mylife cycle of being a total Nigerian is just about to be complete.

image

Three days later, still doubting the reality of everything I was already on the road embarking on a 27hours journey to the unknown, which happened to be my first journey to the North.

What the North East will hold for me and what to expect where all thoughts that nearly denied me the beauty of the journey, that I was so sure isn't gonna end anytime soon.

This post is a continuation of the Episode 1 of MY NYSC EXPERIENCE.
For the first part of the story Click here.

Thanks for reading.
I hope this is something that will catch on, I can still go on to tell you how my 27 hour journey went.
Let me know what you think.

Do have a wonderful weekend

Peace

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/mMHW5e8

Nice one 🔥

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michaelemmanuel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51