The Hustle #4 (Don't go and become a Yakubu)

in #stach7 years ago

Yakubu-miss.jpg
The worst period for me as a young chap playing football in my street was when I was christened "Yakubu".. Damn!

You know of the legendary Yakubu miss right? That miss at the 2010 world cup. Where his leg stood in front of the ball against an empty net and he slid the ball skillfully into a goalkick. I still remember his stupid smile after that, and the sorrowful expression the then foreign coach put up. I cursed Yakubu so much that day. Both verbally and in my mind. Baskets full of curses. That goal would have meant a lot to us.

Well.. So all of a sudden, in the street where we played football in the evenings, they started calling me Yakubu. I would frown and shout for them to stop. You know how it is na... That will even make them do it all the more.

The reason for the Yakubu thing was simple. I had been what 'monkey post' football called backman. That is, the guy that stood just in front of the goalie. I was good at that. I had a slogan which you already know, "if you miss the ball, don't miss the leg". Great!

But then, I began to force myself to be a striker. I began to demand to try shots at being at the front. Scoring goals and attacking. It was while doing this that I got the name, Yakubu. Very pathetic striker I was.

Dear entrepreneur, stay in your lane.
Ferriss Timothy said, " Instead of spending time, trying to improve your weaknesses.. Spend time bettering your strengths"

Be good at what you are good at. Stay at it. Focus. Don't be enticed by stuff you would falter at. The fact that someone is good at something doesn't mean you will be too.

Even if you want to diversify.. Diversify in what you are good at or what you can be good at.

Don't go and become a Yakubu like me!

P.S: I love Yakubu Aiyegbeni, and I believe he is an amazing striker.(just not at that world cup). Bye!

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for resteeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40