FEMINISM MISUNDERSTOOD

in #stach6 years ago

IMG_20180424_152730_853.jpg

IMG_20180424_152910_854.jpg

My take:
I think that, Chimamanda was absolutely wrong. I also think that she has misunderstood what feminism stands for. And I think that, she has taken her feminism advocacy too far.
In the whole of Africa, everyone knows Chimamanda Adichie so much that they know most of her books are hinged and geared towards promoting feminism. While it's a commendable thing for her to be at the top of that advocacy, it's also condemnable that she took it too far by disrespecting Hillary Clinton's decision to start her Twitter Bio with "Wife".

In as much as I won't sit here on my couch and be giving her virtual knocks on the head, I understand that, whenever an individual makes any decision in their personal life, it's nobody's right to be indifferent or angry about it. It is their personal business, and shouldn't be meddled into by anybody.

Funny enough, Chimamanda is a well respected Novelist in Africa, even all over the world- it was so surprising when I heard what she said.
As a feminism police😁👮that she is, I think she has taken that policing too far. People's personal decisions should be respected, without any fear or favour. While every one knows how influential Hillary is in the US- she contested against Trump in the last presidential election, so it means she is very influential and well-known, it still doesn't take away the fact that she is somebody's wife.
What Chimamanda is missing is the fact that, being a wife doesn't undermine one's ability,work, or career. She misunderstood feminism to be that, women should completely match up with men, and not subdue themselves by being "wives"- but that's totally wrong.

In the African clime, it's almost impossible for women to completely match up with men, as religion and some other beliefs have put it. Yes, it's good to advocate for equal opportunities shared between men and women, but I doubt if that theory applies to being a wife in the family.
Arguably, that theory has caused a lot of broken marriages in Africa- because every wife think they should match up completely with their husband, which is not possible.

For me, FEMINISM should be defined based on the ability of a woman to hold herself up high by merit, and not by favour or mere sentiment.

I think we should have more discussions like this on Steemit. I'll suggest some sort of chat parlour for the founder of Steemit. Let's make this community a better one.
Let me know what you think by commenting below.
THANK YOU.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92