Message to a discouraged Minnow

in #stach6 years ago

I know how hard it can be for minnows like me struggling to get their message heard on the Steemit platform and get rewarded for their hardwork.

It's hard, I know...I've been there....and maybe, I'm still there but I definitely won't be there forever.
image
This message is for those whom after putting in all the intellectual effort get nothing in return to show for their labour.

There are times I'd put up a post which I probably may have 'sweated' over...fitting in words and aligning them in the right places. I'd smile when I'm done, reassuring myself "This would be lit". I'll post but no one would upvote or even comment.

How do you deal with that?

We are humans and most times, need the reassurance of others to thrive.

I know you may get when you see a fellow Steemian making more than $100 on a post within seconds of posting and you, even after 7 days, you're still begging for $0.01.

Yes, it hurts....

But, what do you do?
Do you just give up?

At this point, there's only one thing that can motivate you.
And that is...YOUR WHY.

The WHY is a very important questions which should be asked at every point in life in every situation.

Why are you on STEEMIT?

Before I joined Steemit, I've been writing on Facebook and other social media platforms....and of course you know, you don't get paid for writing on Facebook.

One thing that made me continue writing then was the fact that eventually, I will gain traction.

My message will circulate and people will applaud me for my write up not necessarily because it was well written but because it was impactful....

Yes....impact.

I wanted to impact lives so much....question popular reasoning and challenge mediocre thinking.

So whenever I got discouraged that my write ups weren't gaining the much needed traction, I encouraged myself.

Just the way David encouraged himself in the Lord.😉

I told myself....

One day, people will say...
Juliet, because of what I read from one of your articles a certain time ago, I've become this or that.

That alone gives me joy.

If you see my first write up on Facebook ehn

It was wack...
Rubbish

Whenever I read it, I'm like,🤔 was I the one that actually wrote this trash

But then, I became better....

How??

By writing continuously and consistently.

It is said that you become better at what you do consistently

I set goals on how many articles to write per week.

And even if nobody likes it or comments

I tell myself....

Keep pushing

And trust me, today the story is different.

I'm still trying to become better at writing though but at least, I'm better than I was when I started.

So, dear discouraged minnow, to succeed on Steemit, the first thing you need to define is why you are here....

Why are you on Steemit...

When you define your WHY

Your WHAT and HOW will become clearer....

And it is your WHY will spur you on when you feel all the energy is gone...

✌✌✌
Love you

Do not let the discouragement get to you.
Get back up and be your best....

You'll definitely get there.

Cheers😘😘😘

Sort:  

I can totally relate to the "If you see my first write up on Facebook ehn...It was wack...Rubbish" part. Too applicable to literally every aspect of everyone's life. I still remember my first drawing I posted on Facebook lmao. I don't even know why I have that courage to post it up... and until now I still wonder where I got that courage to post my creations on Steemit eh

People tend to notice more on the "gain" part of something, and that is terrifying. You can be driven to make mistakes and wrong decisions just because you crave to get more, while forgetting the most important part of creating something - training yourself in the process to create even better stuff, and more importantly - enjoying the process that makes you happy. When one forgets to be happy, nothing else makes sense - you can't disagree, right?

Hmmn,
Wow, I love this

Thanks much for your input

You are right
When one forgets to be happy, nothing else actually makes sense.

Thanks for stopping by and for your input

Wow... This is beautiful! Sometimes we get discouraged but just like we post things on other platform without been paid.. Steemit is more than getting money but impacting lives.. Thank you @julietisrael

Yeah, it really is...
Thanks and you're welcome, lol

It's important to know who you are and what you intend to offer your audience. After doing this, consistency and patience are needed...

After a while hard work will pay off... Thanks for your insight @julietisrael

Well said @korexe

Thanks for your input

True words. Passion is the key word.

Yeah, passion is definitely key...
Thanks much for your input Boss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48