Reading Does Not Kill!

in #stach6 years ago

A white man once said if you want to hide anything from a black man (African), keep it in a book. You know Why he said that? It is because he thinks blacks/Nigerians do not read.

A young girl requested something from her dad and each day she disturbs the father for it. Apparently, the father had given her a book to read. Go for Gold by John C. Maxwell and had kept money to buy what his daughter wanted in the book. The daughter had been too lazy to even open the book how much more reading it so she didn't see it.

When you read, you learn new things. Your knowledge doubles. Until people learn how to start reading because they enjoy reading and not because they want to pass an exam or a test, reading will not stop being a problem for them.

fl Sam Greenhalgh - reading book outside.jpg

Dear Steemians why not invest in your head/brain?? Buy books and read. Novels, inspirational and motivational books, historical books et al. My friends no longer remind me of their birthdays because i would always give them a book as a present.

images (9).jpeg

I always tell my course mates this back then as an undergraduate student that "Reading does not kill." Now they tagged it my motto. Lol
As a student I hear other students grumble before entering the exam hall "I've not read at all". And when you do not read before an exam phobia creeps in. That course seems very though?? Read it. You don't seem to understand it? Read again. Bored? Read! Just keep reading.
The day a man stops reading, he stops learning and when he stops learning, he starts dying.

images (12).jpeg

When I was growing up I read anything I came across, from billboards to inscriptions and to manuals. Before I ate anything, biscuit or other snacks, I would read everything written on the packet down to the expiry date and that was how I got to know that Soy lecithin is in almost all packaged food/snacks. I knew that at a very young age and I knew it's function because I was always reading. My library is one that captivates as it includes different kind of interesting books. One plan I have for my kids is that they would read at least a book everyday. I would train them to love books until reading becomes an hobby for them.

images (13).jpeg

That brings me to the point I'm trying to make. Sincerely many Afrixans are too lazy to read. They do not want to know what a book or an essay entails simply because "It is too long" Why do people like short cut?? But if they are told to choose between being tall or short, They would rather be tall. So I had an experience I really urged to share. I wanted people to read it because it happens everyday in our society but I had doubts posting it, You know why? Because it was gonna be damn long. I mean as an artist you don't expect me to just write without using words that appeal to your mind. A writer tries to capture his reader's attention with his methods and makes you imagine or visualise as you read. In doing this he makes use of words and that makes the whole write up "Long".

Well I did post it and surprisingly people read it. That goes to show us that a lot of Steemians are readers. Kudos STEEMIANS! Don't stop reading.

IMG_20180107_110849.jpg

Good day Steemians!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55