The Two Bridges!

in #stach4 years ago

IMG_20200509_143024_258.JPG

The Two Bridges!

There is this popular saying in this part of the world, which goes thus, "when we get to the bridge, we will cross it." The big question here is, how many persons have been able to cross the bridge? Is it everyone who gets to the bridge that crosses it? Hmmmmmm!

IMG_20200509_143009_426.JPG

Like my grandfather would always say, "my son, in life, there are two bridges; it is either you cross them, or they cross you".

IMG_20200509_142949_566.JPG

I could barely understand these words because I was still very little then and very stubborn: yet, i was my grandfather's favourite.

I didn't care about what message my grandpa was trying to pass to me until a particular day when i showed him my primary 5 result. When he say it, he looked at me and smiled and started singing this popular song, "London Bridge is Falling Down, Falling Down, Falling Down, London Bridge is Falling Down, My Dear Baby." I perceived this song was a euphemistic way for mocking me, so i burst into a river of tears. It was then, he looked at me and said, "son, now is the right time for me to tell you about the two bridges." 👇

IMG_20200509_142936_810.JPG

  1. The First Bridge -
    This is to do with the staying under someone, learning from someone, feeding from someone, schooling under someone. You could boldly say to yourself, "I have successfully crossed this bridge", when you have learnt any possible trade, completed your schooling, being able to pay your bills and fend for others.
  1. The Second Bridge:
    This bridge entails, marrying a good wife or a good husband and living happily with your children, grandchildren and great grandchildren surrounding your table.

These are my grandfather's points of view and i think i like them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.23
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10