#Stach#Contest: A STITCH IN TIME SAVES NINE

in #stach6 years ago

FB_IMG_1519209594590.jpgI had been seated at the balcony behind my office, pondering on the up and coming elections. Obviously, the State House of Assembly Seat, this turn, was going to be an almost easy catch for me.

Aside that the seat, representing my state constituency, Etim Ekpo LGA, was zoned to my ward (ward 2) I am one of only six eligible candidates considering the turn of events and preferences in today's Nigeria.

I thought of how much I may need to invest, my options if I lost and what my agenda will be if I finally emerged victorious.

The zeal to run for office needed to be marched with genuine reasons for I have never intended to stand election just to gain popularity or huge finances. I am a complete 21st century young African politician who has understood why Trump has constantly referred to my continent and sometimes to my country, Nigeria as shut hole and needed to work smart in a different direction to change that impression.

I have been deep in thought from my ninth story Abak road office balcony for maybe about 45 minutes or more when I noticed my phone ringtone singing softly from my office.

Just then, It dawned on me that I had been about more than 35 minutes late in submitting an Executive summary to my groups finaciers concerning a particular project in Akwa Ibom State Government.

I dashed into my office, dived for my GSM and YES, I had about 27 missed calls and a text. The calls were a bit worrisome but the text was altogether, devastating to my feelings.

It read "The Commissioner has sent in an executive summary as we didn't get your copy at 9: am as scheduled even though we tried contacting you. I advice that you work harder on the next project as you remain a valuable partner to us. Regards"

I felt a chill run through my body, a project which funds were to be mobilised to kick start in the next 8 days has been waved. How do I fund my campaigns flag off next two weeks? Will I have to wait another month? I should have sent this mail immediately I resumed FB_IMG_1519209594590.jpgoffice in the morning, a stitch in time should have saved nine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65