POSITIVE WITH POSITIVITY II

in #stach7 years ago (edited)

It was Thursday, the week was closely coming to an end. This was my first festive season away from my family. Spending my Christmas and new year away from the whole frenzy at home. I missed my mom, I missed my lovely sisters @yhubie and deedee, I miss my dad, I miss the dogs at home.
I intended travelling home on Friday, so I had to move my planned date with Joan to Thursday. I needed the family time too. It was a longer day at work, I couldn’t even step out for lunch. Luckily for me, we closed earlier. As I strolled out of the hospital block, I dipped my hand into my pocket, brought out my phone. I dialed Joan.
Hello? Greeted the gentle voice from the other end.
How are you dear? I enquired. Aside from not hearing from you, I am fine.
I am sorry, it was a long day at work. I couldn’t step out for lunch, you know I usually call you then.
Awwwww. You must be very tired, where are you now? It is not yet 4pm.
We closed earlier. I replied.
Come to my place, I know you are famished. She appealed.
I had no food in my fridge. And my stomach won’t forgive me if I turned down such a right on time offer.
Drop your address for me in a text, I said and dropped the call.

A neatly furnished one room apartment just too fit a student. Either she was preparing for me within that short notice or she must be an extremely neat person. The floor was clean and smooth. The bed was well laid with matching colors. She had a make up stand with a large mirror and lots of items I didn’t even know about. The kitchen was stocked as if it was for a new semester, yet in this case the semester was ending. She had a sparkling toilet with lots of feminine issue also. To crown it all, the air in the room was conditioned with a nice fragrance.
I was too tired to bother about the chair, I fell on the bed. She opened the fridge and handed me a plate of sliced fruits containing pineapples, oranges and cucumber. Before she came out of the kitchen I had finished the contents of the plate like a hungry man that I was.
I had a sumptuous garri and afang soup amidst long discussion; I was filled and satisfied that I didn’t know when I dozed off.

Waking up few minutes past 6pm, Joan was engrossed in her laptop.
Sleepy head, she teased.
I smiled. Are we still going out today?
See this man oo. I wont forgive you. How can you ask me that? She joked.
Oya take your drugs and prepare. It was 6.58pm and I knew her time was 7pm.
I know sir, she replied. As she took the drugs and got dressed. I washed my face and looked all bright once again. We held hands and walk towards the road. We decided to start the night with Ice creams from SPA mall. Ice cream and cake it was until it was time to leave there for the next spot. Right at SPA, I noticed Joan made beautiful dance steps to the songs in the background then I knew I needed to get her to a spot where she can express herself freely.

Where is this place?
She asked as we climbed up the stairs of HOTEL. I had the VIP bar in mind. I had been there twice and knew it was exactly what she needed. We checked in, and we got a romantic spot somewhere right in. “I want you to show me your dance steps” I whisper into her ears amidst the loud music. You gonna pay for it! And in kind she said. You have to dance with me.
Before I could say a thing, she had dragged me to my feet and i only had to join in dancing to the tone of Gaga Shuffle by Tuface. We danced the night out… I was really terrible in dancing, but it was mad fun. Joan could have had not les than 10 suitors that night had it been she was alone. She is beautifully endowed with perhaps the most elegant small in the room. Slowly, the night was getting old and we were just tired. Leaving the Hotel, we walked down the road. Against the blowing breeze and traffic, she held my hand. Tightly she held as if she was afraid of something up front. I didn’t know what was happening exactly, certainly there was a burden she had to let go! And tonight was the night.

It was a Thursday night like this.
He was my first boyfriend, we didn’t get to break up officially.
We just went separate ways.
He traveled out for his academic program and we lost contact for Three years.
One fateful day, I had an issue with my ATM card so I had to go to the bank.
I walked into him, we were happy to see ourselves despite the fact that we have been away from each other for a while. He waited for me. I finished up and we drove out.
He insisted we must have a drink together. I couldn't object, I missed him too. Tho I wasn’t completely happy with him.
It was a swell evening. So much fun until he dropped me off.
We exchanged contacts again and right from that night , the calls never stopped.

I don’t know what came over me Emediong…
I lost my guard. He got so into me that I didn’t realized it been ovr 3years he left.
The calls were too frequent and visits occurring in quick sessions.
Until this fateful Thursday evening after midweek service, as I stepped out of church to go home. I saw his missed calls, I called back and he offered to come get me from church.
We got to my place and one thing led to another.
From God’s Presence to a man’s arm. And now I am Positive.

She was completely broken. Had to stop walking to have a good grab of her. She cried and cried, it was the first time she was telling her ordeal to someone. I needed to let her cry it out. After a while, she stopped crying. I comforted her. I kept saying it is not the end of the world, and I meant it. Obviously she needed to let go of it. Move on with life. I had gone past the stage of a Healthcare Provider to her, I became a confidant and a friend. I called a cabman, she slept all the way to her house as I guided her to her door and bid her a good night.

I got back home too tired but fulfilled, I had my date and it was just perfect.
I had come to terms that someone needs my attention and I was gonna give it to her, it that will give her Joy. It could just be anyone, we aint too careful. Th most important thing to me here was to ensure that she lives happily without and sense of diseased or inferiority.
Life can be beautiful if we agree to be the different colors of HAPPINESS.
What do we live for?

I stayed on for Joan because of my knowledge of the different scenarios she might be playing in her head. It is called Crisis Prevention and intervention. This is applicable to everyone in this situation. Which is the essence of this writing all these.

Ensuring that the person concerned has all the support the requires as they get on with their day to day activities. Long lonely hours can plunge one into unhealthy thoughts. Ultimately, idleness is discouraged. One has to be sensitive to the possibility of suicide or self inflicted injury.
Follow up visits has been shown to be of great benefit as it provides the patient opportunity to ask questions, talk about their fears and worries as they encounter them.

Another important aspect is Health and Sexuality of the persons concerned. Adequate information about safe sex much be preached. Loose lifestyle should be totally frowned at, no matter what the motives are. It should be understood that there is no gain spreading the Virus.
Good dietary and Proper Hyiene should be adhered to. It should be understood that the Immune System is already weak and opportunistic infection are even more destructive in these persons.

The moment we all can comfortable living with persons infected, we have successfully contributed our quota to making our world a safer place. It is a collective Obligation. Stand up to it today.

POSTIVE WITH POSTIVITY.

Sort:  

OMG! This is SUCH an AMAZING post! Thank you for sharing! I gave you a vote!!

Wow... Thank you so much. I appreciate

The moment we all can be comfortable living with an infected person,we have succesfully contributed our quota to making the world a better place!

Nice one! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for reading.

This is quite an exceptional post, it isn't one that just deserve upvotes for it's steem sake but for such a compassionate gesture very rare. You deserve an award for such a bold step

Thank you. I appreciate the time you took out to read this.

Congratulations @emediong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87