Iwalewa (character character is beauty) pt 4

in #stach6 years ago

Iwalewa IV
Hello! Glad to have you here today! I hope that you've been
enjoying Iwalewa thus far. If you haven't read Iwalewa I ,
Iwalewa II, or Iwalewa III yet please do so!
Now enjoy Iwalewa IV!


The appointed time had finally come, after four long years it
was finally here! Graduation day! June 19, 2008 was a good day
for me, another chapter closed. I was definitely looking
forward to opening a new chapter. I felt that going away for
college would give me a fresh start in life. My mom was
overjoyed, she had on the biggest gele (African head tie/head
gear) in the auditorium. She was all smiles, she invited all
our family and friends to witness her only daughter's
graduation from high school. I was only given 5 graduation
tickets, I'm not sure how the other 10 guests got into the
auditorium. But then again Nigerians always have their way of
doing things.
It was my turn to be called onto the stage to receive my
diploma, I stood smiling from ear to ear, proud of all that I
had accomplished despite what I've been through. I-WA-LE-WA O-
NI, surprisingly my name was pronounced correctly. My family
and friends took over the auditorium with their loud chants
and screaming, mommy being the loudest "Eledami o ma se o,
Modupe! Jesu seun!" (My creator thank you, I am grateful.
Thank you Jesus!). She said all this while on both knees, to
say that I was embarrassed is an understatement. But I just
laughed it off. I proudly posed for all the cameras with my
diploma in my hands. I made it!
The rest of the day went on well, I made up my mind to enjoy
the moment. I deserved it! After the graduation ceremony, we
had a get together at my house. There was food for days,
jollof rice, fried rice, efo riro, egusi, pounded yam, asaro,
plantain, buka stew, fried fish, fried chicken, beef...you
know the Nigerian staples. Surprisingly my appetite was back
for the day and I indulged while entertaining guests. Mommy
went all out. We even had a DJ. I had a great time, I got to
spend time with family and friends that I hadn't seen in a
long time.
By 9pm, it was a wrap! Everyone said their goodbyes and it was
cleanup time. My siblings were in the basement playing video
games and gisting. That left mommy and I to do the cleaning.
I started by picking up deserted plates and cups in the living
room, mom started in the kitchen. Our paths crossed when I
was about to toss the items into the trash, she was about to
open the fridge and place leftovers in it. She stopped and
smiled at me, she looked deep into my eyes.
"Iwalewa"
I tossed the items into the trash.
"Yes mommy"
"Do you know how much I love you, you make me proud."
I blushed "Ohhh mommy stop! Why are you being mushy?"
"Look at me Iwalewa, I'm serious"
I lifted my chin slowly.
"You are dear to my heart, you're the apple of my eye."
I nodded as our eyes stayed united.
"I prayed for you and God surpassed my expectations, I admire
your strength and I know that your future is bright no matter
what the enemy has tried he can't stop your destiny, you will
fulfill your purpose. It's a great purpose and I always pray
that God will open your eyes to see it."
I got emotional, I don't know where the tears came from but
there was a small piece of me that believed every word that
she spoke. After so many months, I actually felt hopeful.
"As you go away to school, remember the child of whom you are.
Don't mix with the wrong people. Protect your destiny, I'm
always praying for you."
She reached out to me and I did the same, she embraced me. I
felt at peace and secure in her arms. We hugged for about 2
minutes all the while tears were rolling down the sides of
both of our cheeks.
Before letting go, she whispered into my ears "I love you
Iwaoluwalewa"
I responded, "I love you too mommy."
She placed a soft kiss on my left cheek and then did the same
on the right one.
We went about our business and the house was cleaned within 30
minutes. I was exhausted, it had been a long day. I hopped
into the shower and laid on my bed afterwards. I thought about
all mommy had said and wondered if she was sure of what she
said. There was something about her, she spoke with so much
confidence and conviction. The conversation replayed over and
over in my mind until I fell asleep.
"It's a great purpose and I always pray that God will open
your eyes to see it."
"I admire your strength and I know that your future is bright
no matter what the enemy has tried he can't stop your
destiny."
"Protect your destiny"

Sort:  

Congratulations @danielprince89! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @danielprince89! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12