You just can't own a person

in #stach7 years ago
![Snapchat-935026461.jpg]()
I don't know when people will learn that you can't own a human being.

You simply cannot.

Even your children are not your property. You can't do with them what you will. You cannot. That is why if you maltreat your child, welfare services will take the child off you. They don't care that you carried the child for 9 months and spent 100 hours in labour. Nobody gives a shit about that. You can't treat people like you bought them at Aswani market.

This feeling of ownership is why husbands will beat their wives, why madams will beat their house helps and why a mother will put pepper in her daughter's vagina because she thinks she has 'started following boys'. You think you own them. You can't own a human being. This is 2018. Slavery was abolished a long time ago. Get with the times.

Look for other methods to correct wrongs but you cannot beat someone blue black because the person came home late. It is appalling. It changes nothing.

Beat. Beat. Beat. Any thing, beat. Any infraction, beat. God. If you've been doing something for so long and there's no change, try something else. Our parents beat nonsense and bastard out of us, what changed exactly? The whole world is advancing. We can't even get simple things right. You would have thought with all the beatings we got, Nigeria would have been a super power by now.

I know some people will come here and say "My father beat me and I didn't die", "My mother beat me and I'm still here".

Yes, you're still here. But did you change for the better?

Sort:  

I completely applaud you for this!! I do not believe in corporal punishment, and I RARELY use it on my own boys. I would rather they understand why something was wrong and give punishments that they dislike far more than a few seconds of physical pain. Spankings don't even phase my kids half of the time...they just don't get the message. But, if I take a special toy away for a week, they are behaving better and promising to continue in order to reunite with their iPad, remote control car, or whatever I removed from their room.

Am glad you understand clearly my point here and that you're not one of those parents who regularly hit their kids as a means of correction!

Congratulations @crystalll! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Beat beat beat!! 😂😂 omoh Dey beat us sha

Lol.... no be small thing😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62296.59
ETH 2441.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65