Voiceless

in #stach6 years ago

images(19).jpg

Yes we all a voice; one that needs to be heard every now and then but what happens when it feels like your choked up in your body and you have no ability to air your views? That situation is as good as having no voice; you're voiceless!

“If you don’t build your dreams, someone else will hire you to build theirs.”

I stared into the woman’s eyes, this woman who I was saying “I do” to, the woman I was swearing to God and man that I would love and honour till I met with death’s clutch. I was staring deep into them to see if she could recognize my lies.

I was a medical doctor who knew as much about the human organs as a day old baby knew about the world. I’d rather have machines, devices and parts in front of me…inanimate objects I could manipulate and not bother about how many lives I could save.

After college I had started up my own clinic because mother thought that was the right thing to do.

images(16).jpg
I was a man who was getting married to a woman I knew nothing about…except that my parents said she was right for me.

I lived in Victoria Island because my mother said she had always wanted me to live there. I drove an SUV because father said he preferred I drove that. My parents had already decided they wanted three grand children from me. I wondered if my parents had a say in what my first words were, or if they would like to have a say in my heart beat too.

“Do you?” The priest’s voice seemed to snap me back to reality.
“I will not.” I said, shifting my eyes from my mother to my father and then finally fixing it on my bride. “I have a voice, and I’m sorry but you are not my wife…I will not make you share the burden of my regret.”
I left her at the altar, though it seemed harsh, I did us both good. I was going to reschedule my life, put things in place.

“It is never too late to start.”

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR
I hope you were able to see through the writers eyes? For how many of us do others choose our paths and we just follow? Make your mistakes and learn from them for your living is a risk only you can handle.
Lots of love.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65