Why do bad things happen to good people and a Note to the nigerian government in the health sector

in #stach7 years ago

images (2).jpgHow could this happen? Just within 3hours!!This man was so strong and active about three days ago. How could this be? A jovial handsome man, fair, of average height and of very admirable physique.. He had a lovely wife. He was admitted into the hospital and was doing so well, playing with all the patients, giving the doctors and nurses joy after feeling depressed from the whole struggles of the day. images (75).jpg
But all of a sudden he became breathless at rest yesterday , he was a congestive cardiac failure patient. He needed blood and oxygen, so I ordered for two units of blood which his wife brought and we started to transfuse. For the oxygen, the male medical ward 1 in the University of port harcourt teaching hospital (UPTH) had only one oxygen concentrator which was already in use by a patient with cerebrovascular disease which is commonly know as stroke. What was I meant to do? Do I remove the man who was on life support? Or I leave this breathless young man? Well, I left this young man on blood transfusion without oxygen and still made the man who can't live without oxygen continue with the oxygen.
At this morning, when I got there rondo the routine check and prescribe some drugs for him, his bed was cleared. I ran down confused and agitated. I shouted nurse! nurse! What happened to lolo?( which was the name we called him) . Without emotions, she told me he was late. I fell to my knees and wept till I had no tears left. I remembered the the patient who I left the oxygen on, he also died.

I want to use this medium to beg the Nigerian government to help the health sector. For lives of patients are so important. UPTH happens to be the biggest hospital in port Harcourt and it is a teaching hospital. This is not a good way to help students and improve the medical care in Nigeria ... We need help. We want to practice with good facilities.. images (77).jpg
DQmcGTgE9ztQ7QmWESyE7uVqLrUqfbAa1fsTCod6dmsFYjP.gif

Sort:  

So sad and annoying
This is exactly how messed up our system is. It's about time we focus on our private sector and create big things for ourselfs. Our system/government keeps retarding and that's just sad.

mad and stupid government we have in place now they have no value for human lives but for their pockets and bank accounts to get filled with the loot of the national treasury my brother na one chance we enter so ooohhhhhhh

may GOd comfort the bereaved and grant eternal rest to the departed its really pathetic right now in this country Nigeria

My brother ... Nigeria has to wake up o

Nice post

That is just too awful. They should consider using portable oxygen concentrator manufacturer, that can make things really cheaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66