I CHOOSE TO BE HAPPY!!!

in #stach-dsw6 years ago

"Happy", a five letter word. I search through my mind seeking to find answers, answers to the question, "Are you happy?" All my mind can come up with is "I am fine". Fine is not happy. Perhaps I'm searching for it in the wrong place. I had forgotten that happiness is within, in my tamed mind and my disciplined thoughts.

sunglasses-635269__480.jpg
Pixabay

I had forgotten there are people with cut wrists and bandaged legs. Patients languishing in the hospital with months of treatment hoping to get better but reality spares them no harshness until hope slips away. Here I am with my two breast in a brassiere, I choose to be happy for health is bliss.

The bills have come in, the landlord ringing my phone but the cash is not enough to take care of my debts and my IOU's. I wonder why life is so unfair to me. Why must i have a burden so great to bear but forgotten I must have, that i am not in a prison, a dark and lonely place with no family and friends nearby, walking around in an orange jumpsuit with walls so high. Why should my days be filed with cares and my nights burdened with grief? I am free to move around, to toil and achieve, to break forth from the chains of indebtedness and so I choose to be happy, happy and free.

Mortal men have hurt me with their promises. They have painted a perfect world and deceived me with their kisses. Rejection is my bossom friend, walking me through a familiar territory of loneliness and despair filled with envy and jealousness at those who dare to love, with wistful tears flowing down my cheeks wondering if I am not cut out for a "happy ever after" but I choose to be happy. Better a bride at 40 than a widow at 25.

I choose to be happy because I have eyes to appreciate the beautiful scenery of nature, to watch the beautiful colours of rainbow and admire the butterfly as it moves in it's graceful flight. I have nose that can smell the sweet scent of the flower, ears that can listen to the lovely tunes of the bird every morning, hands to feel the softness of the green grass and legs to walk around admiring the azure blue sky. I choose to be happy because my lips can testify that God lives, and all is well.

sunflowers-3640938__480.jpg
Pixabay

Life's deepest desires sometimes seem out of reach but I know that happiness is an ecstasy which gives essence to life. The odds of life may not always be in my favour. My simple uncluttered life has no tragedies and so I will love and deeply care, I will celebrate and party all night, I will spend time with others and cherish every moment. The secret of long life is in being happy. Process it today, choose to be happy.

This was my entry for the SAW contest on Stacy Discord Server Last night
There were so many beautiful entries from @warpedpoetic, @francistagbo, @bookons, @julietisrael, @iamthegray, @dawizy, @chireerocks and a host of others.

show was hosted by @winarobert and co-hosted by @julietisrael.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

I think you already know all I want to say about this piece. So I won't say it again. I'll just thank you, for always coming through right from the beginning till now. And conclude by saying, I hope to read another stunner next week!!!

Cheers Love

Thank you for keeping my brain busy @winarobert.

Congratulations @zyzymena! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72